USILA Special Awards, Players/Coaches of the Year

At the annual All-American Banquet on June 10, 2005 the following awards were presented by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association.

Howdy Meyers Man of the Year Award. Presented in honor of one of lacrosse's most outstanding coaches. The award winner was: Jim Stagnitta, Rutgers University

Jim Stagnitta started his collegiate coaching career in 1985. He has spent time coaching at the Junior College level, then as an assistant Division I coach and 12 years as the head coach at Washington and Lee before coming to Rutgers. Along with his coaching he has spent 12 years in the hierarchy of the USILA. He was the Division III rep, all of the vice presidential positions, president and past president. He has been very active in every facet of the organization. It is a pleasure to honor him for all the effort he has put into our organization.

* * * * * *

Frenchy Julien/USILA Service Award. Presented in honor of former Chief Referee R. "Frenchy" Julien, for outstanding service to the sport. The award winner was: Sid Jamieson, Bucknell University

Sid Jamieson is a 1964 graduate of Cortland State. Sid has just completed his 38th and final season as the only head lacrosse coach Bucknell has known. This legendary mentor has won seven conference titles in different conferences. In 1996 Jamieson led the Bison's to an undefeated season and the Patriot League champions. Jamieson has also been a dynamic force on the international lacrosse scene, through his involvement with the Iroquois National Team. Jamieson has also given numerous lectures for Native American youth on education, self-motivation and self-esteem. The college lacrosse community is going to miss Sid and we want to recognize him for what he has given to the sport.

* * * * * *

E. Doyle Smith Media Award. Presented in honor of the USILA's longtime secretary and information director. Bob Carpenter, Inside Lacrosse

Bob Carpenter played four years of lacrosse at Duke. In 1996 when he graduated from Duke there was a fraction of the news coverage of the game that there is today. Carpenter brought zero journalism or publishing experience to the table, but he was equipped with a lifetime of lacrosse-playing and a genuine love of the game when he decided to start a lacrosse publication to feed the sports hungry fans. He started the ham and egg operation out of a spare bedroom in Towson, Maryland. He was sending weekly score bulletins to lacrosse junkies nationally, in first class envelopes so nothing was out of date. Almost seven years later Inside Lacrosse has evolved into a glossy, full color format with 11 issues a year. The staff currently features 12 full time people and close to 100 freelancers. Bob Carpenters operation has truly helped lacrosse become the far reaching sport it is today. It now has 20,000 subscribers in all 50 states and eight foreign countries. It is our pleasure to honor Bob Carpenter.

* * * * * *

F. Morris Touchstone Award for Coach of the Year

Division I - Mike Pressler, Duke University

Mike Pressler just completed his 21st season as a head coach. Pressler came to Duke as one of the most successful NCAA Division III lacrosse coaches. In his five seasons at Ohio Wesleyan, Pressler led the Battling Bishops to the NCAA finals three straight years and the semifinals twice. Mike was the Division III Coach of the Year in 1987. This past year Mike led Duke to a 17-3 record and the NCAA Finals. These 17 wins set an NCAA record and was Duke's first championship appearance. Mike is considered one of the top college coaches in the country and has a 147-80 record at Duke.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website