SELC's Offensive MVP Award Renamed for Corey Noonan

This past April, Seminole attackman Corey Noonan became the first player in Southeastern Lacrosse Conference history to win the Doug Horn Offensive Player of the Year Award four times. Yesterday morning, Doug Horn announced that award named in his honor would become the Corey Noonan Offensive Player of the Year Award.

"I am honored to relinquish my name as part of this award for the past seven years and have a truly outstanding player and fine young man's name on that award," said Horn, who suggested the name change to the SELC Executive Board. Horn is currently the SELC's Division I Director and the SELC Tournament Director. In the past, he has served as the SELC President, and as an SELC official.

"I don't even know what to say," said Noonan, "When Coach (Harkins) told me the news this morning, I sent Doug Horn an email to thank him and ask for his phone number, and I told him that I would contact him again once I got my emotions together. It's hard to put into words what this means to me, and I have no idea what you say to someone who does something like this. In my wildest dreams, I never imagined something like this happening. It's a great honor to have an award named after you, but having someone like Doug Horn ask that they take his name off of the award so that it can be renamed for you is just unbelievable."

Florida State head coach Bill Harkins offered praise for both Noonan and Horn. "We at Florida State are extremely proud of Corey's accomplishments," said Harkins, "However we are blown away by the class and generosity of spirit exhibited by Doug Horn in giving up this prestigious award. Doug has set the bar much higher than most of us could possibly achieve."

Noonan is the only Seminole to have won the award, which is presented to the SELC's top offensive player. The award is determined by a vote of the conference's coaches, and it is presented to the winner during the SELC Championship weekend.


Create a free lacrosse website