ESPNU Headlines ESPN's 2010 College Lacrosse Schedule

ESPNU will lead ESPN's college lacrosse coverage with increased game coverage this season, including 40 men's and women's regular-season contests combined, in addition to one live ESPN2 and ESPN360.com game. The networks will televise 57 games overall, including 42 regular-season contests (up from 30) and 15 NCAA Tournament games across ESPNU, ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN360.com. Coverage will begin on ESPNU on Friday, Feb. 19, at 5:00 p.m. ET, when No. 6 Johns Hopkins hosts Manhattan.

ESPNU highlights include the Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic, which will showcase No. 1 Duke vs. No. 7 Maryland at 11 a.m. and No. 8 Princeton vs. No. 6 Johns Hopkins on Saturday, March 6, at 1:30 p.m. at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore. The schedule will also feature the second annual Konica Minolta Big City Classic on Saturday, April 10, with No. 4 North Carolina vs. No. 3 Virginia at 4:00 p.m. and No. 2 Syracuse vs. No. 8 Princeton at 6:30 p.m. from New Meadowlands Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Included in this year's schedule will be a new lacrosse doubleheader, the ESPNU Warrior Lacrosse Invitational, organized by ESPN Regional Television. The event will take place at Rentschler Field in Hartford, Conn., on Saturday, April 24, and will showcase No. 18 Massachusetts vs. No. 13 Georgetown at 1:30 p.m., with No. 17 Denver taking on Fairfield at 11:00 a.m.

The men's schedule will be highlighted by appearances from 19 of the top 25 teams ranked in the Face-Off Yearbook Top 25. Also, defending NCAA champion Syracuse, ranked No. 2, will make six appearances on air, along with No. 3 Virginia. No. 1 Duke will appear four times. ESPNU will also feature two women's matchups: Towson at Johns Hopkins on Wednesday, March 10, at 4:00 p.m., and Ohio State at Johns Hopkins on Sunday, May 2, at noon.

For the fourth year in a row, the ESPN networks will televise the complete NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship. ESPNU will televise all eight First Round games and Quarterfinal contests May 15-23. ESPN2 will televise the National Semifinals on May 29 and ESPN will offer the National Championship game on May 31 from M&T Bank Stadium. ESPN360.com will simulcast the semifinal and championship games.

2010 ESPNU College Lacrosse Regular-Season Schedule

Date           Time (ET)     Game
Fri, Feb 19 5:00 p.m. Manhattan at Johns Hopkins
Tue, Feb 23 5:00 p.m. Delaware at Johns Hopkins
Sat, Feb 27 12:00 p.m. Hofstra at Princeton
2:00 p.m. *Maryland at Georgetown
Sun, Feb 28 12:00 p.m. Siena at Johns Hopkins

Sat, Mar 6 11:00 a.m. Face-Off Classic: Duke at Maryland
1:30 p.m. Face-Off Classic: Princeton vs. Johns Hopkins
4:00 p.m. Syracuse at Virginia (ESPN360.com)
Sun, Mar 7 12:30 a.m. *^North Carolina at UMBC
Tue, Mar. 9 11:30 p.m. ^UMBC at Johns Hopkins
Wed, Mar. 10 4:00 p.m. Towson at Johns Hopkins (women)
7:00 p.m. North Carolina at Duke
Sat, Mar 13 11:00 a.m. *Towson at Maryland
2:00 p.m. Georgetown at Syracuse
Sat, Mar 20 2:00 p.m. *^Maryland at UMBC
8:00 p.m. Syracuse at Johns Hopkins
Sun, Mar 21 12:00 p.m. *Virginia at Towson
Sat, Mar 27 12:00 p.m. Johns Hopkins at Virginia (ESPN2)
12:00 p.m. Duke at Georgetown
2:00 p.m. Maryland at North Carolina
Sun, Mar 28 2:00 a.m. *^Towson at Loyola (Md.)

Sat, Apr 3 12:00 p.m. *North Carolina at Johns Hopkins
8:00 p.m. Virginia at Maryland
Sat, Apr 10 12:00 p.m. *Navy at Maryland
2:00 p.m. Albany at Johns Hopkins
4:00 p.m. Big City Classic: North Carolina at Virginia
6:30 p.m. Big City Classic: Princeton at Syracuse
Sun, Apr 11 12:00 p.m. Notre Dame at Georgetown
Sat, Apr 17 12:00 p.m. *Georgetown at Loyola (Md.)
4:00 p.m. Smartlink Day of Rivals: Navy vs. Army
6:30 p.m. Smartlink Day of Rivals: Maryland vs. JHU
8:30 p.m. Duke at Virginia
Sun, Apr 18 6:00 p.m. Syracuse at Rutgers
Sat, Apr 24 11:00 a.m. ESPNU Warrior Invitational: Denver vs. Fairfield
1:30 p.m. ESPNU Warrior Invitational: UMass vs. Georgetown
Sun, Apr 25 5:00 p.m. *^Penn State at Towson
Wed, Apr 28 7:00 p.m. Towson at Johns Hopkins

Sat, May 1 12:00 p.m. *Hartford at UMBC
5:00 p.m. Cornell at Princeton
7:00 p.m. Syracuse at Notre Dame
Sun, May 2 12:00 p.m. Ohio State at Johns Hopkins (women)
Sat, May 8 12:00 p.m. *Johns Hopkins at Loyola (Md.)

* Will co-exist on WMAR-TV (ABC affiliate in Baltimore)
^ Tape delay

1 2    Next  »

2009-12-29



Create a free lacrosse website