Husson Men's Lacrosse Gears Up for Second Season

As the 2010 Husson Men's Lacrosse Team enters their second season, the players are filled with a mix of emotions. There is tremendous excitement for what the future holds, but there is also lingering sadness over the loss of one of their 2009 teammates. The team will dedicate the 2010 season to the memory of Kyle Dwyer, who was lost this past September.

The Eagles will take the field this spring with 29 players; 11 returners from last year's inaugural season and 18 newcomers to the Husson campus. Coach Jeremy Mattoon is excited about the opportunities for this year's team, stating "we are extremely young as a team but we have some tremendous sophomore leadership, all four of our captains were part of our inaugural team and these guys will set the tone and expectations for the new guys. "

The Attack will be led by two year captain Ben Landry(Lewiston, ME/Lewiston). Landry is a left-handed shooter who led the team in points last season with 45. Along with Landry, the attack will feature two freshman out of York County, Pennsylvania, Mitch Heaps(York, PA/Red Lion ) and Derrick Schlimm(Hanover, PA/Southwestern), who will make an immediate impact and be expected to contribute at the offensive end.

The Midfield will be young and athletic, led by sophomore Nick Brown(Sabattus, ME/Oak Hill), who scored 42 points last season and was the Eagles' second leading scorer. Brown will be joined on the first midfield unit by freshman Chris Pelettier (Rome, ME/ Messalonskee) and freshman Alex Ryan(Northfield, NH/Bishop Brady). The second midfield line will feature three returners from last years's squad including captain Anthony Diaz(Brunswick, ME/Brunswick), Sam Smith(Rockport, ME/Camden Hills), and Chris Lloyd(Oxford, ME/Oxford). This unit combined for 48 goals and 24 assists last season. The defensive midfield unit will consist of sophomore captain Nate Briggs(Freeport, ME/Freeport), Mike Lapoint(Barnegat, NJ/Barnegat Township) and David Smith(Fryeburg, ME/Fryeburg Academy)

The Eagles defense will be anchored by sophomore captain Mike LaBrie (Oakland, ME/Messalonskee) and two Freshman Matt Tabler (Catonsville, MD/Catonsville) and Wayne Stubbs (Keene, NH/Gow School). Backstopping the defense, Coach Mattoon will employ a "3-headed monster in the goal". Curry transfer Jon Hooper(Wakefield, RI) will share time in the cage with Alex Behzad(Stamford, CT) and Tyler Quinn(McLean, VA).

The Eagles will open their season at Gwynedd-Mercy on March 7.


Create a free lacrosse website