2010 Tewaaraton Men's, Women's Watch Lists Announced

Washington, D.C. The Greater Washington Sports Alliance is pleased to announce the 2010 preseason Tewaaraton watch list. The list is made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and are the early hopefuls for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy. Watch list nominees are screened and selected by two Selection Committees. The Selection Committees are comprised of college coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

"I am excited to announce this year's watch list," said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The committee has done an outstanding job at selecting the top contenders across the country. This year's list represents 35 institutions, over 13 conferences encompassing students from 14 states, Canada and Australia, so if this is any indication of what is to come, I believe we are in store for an electrifying and intense season ahead."

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men's and women's lacrosse player of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the "Year of the Seneca".

"This is a great year for the Tewaaraton Award and I am thrilled that we have a Native American nominated to the watch list. Rooted in centuries of Native American tradition, lacrosse is one of the oldest team sports played in North America. It is humbling to know that the sport has grown to the popularity that it has through the years, beyond that of just the Iroquois Confederacy, and that young men and women throughout North America are carrying on this remarkable tradition," said Jeffrey Harvey, Chairman of The Tewaaraton Advisory Council.

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Men's 2010 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Billy Bitter, North Carolina Junior (Attack), Stowe, VT
Josh Amidon, Syracuse Junior (Midfield), Lafayette, N.Y.
Sam Barnes, Notre Dame Senior (Defense), Branford, CT
Drew Bezek, Le Moyne Junior (Midfield), Lowville, N.Y.
Steven Boyle, Johns Hopkins Senior (Attack), Derry, N.H.
Andrew Brancaccio, Georgetown Senior (Midfield), Bethesda, MD
Shamel Bratton, Virginia Junior (Midfield), Huntington Station, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra Junior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Brian Carroll, Virginia Senior (Midfield), Towson, MD
Tyler Cassel, Hobart Junior (Midfield), Geneva, N.Y.
Brian Caulfield, Albany Junior (Attack), Bay Shore, N.Y.
Ken Clausen, Virginia Senior (Defense), Downington, PA
Jeff Cohen, Harvard Sophomore (Attack), Syosset, N.Y.
CJ Costabile, Duke Sophomore (Defense), New Fairfield, CT
Ned Crotty, Duke Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C.
Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson Junior (Attack), Westminster, MD
Dave Decker, Stevens Junior (Goalie), Califon, N.J.
Pierce Derkac, Cornell Senior (Midfield), Keswick, VA
Curtis Dickson, Delaware Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C.
Craig Dowd, Georgetown Senior (Attack), Northport, N.Y.
Matt Drenan, Johns Hopkins Senior (Defense), San Diego, CA
Barney Ehrman, Georgetown Senior (Defense), Baltimore, MD
Brian Farrell, Maryland Junior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Andrew Feinberg, Brown Junior (Attack), Owings Mills, MD
Collin Finnerty, Loyola Maryland Senior (Attack), Garden City, NY
Tyler Fiorito, Princeton Sophomore (Goalie), Phoenix, MD
Ryan Flanagan, North Carolina Junior (Defense), West Islip, N.Y.
John Galloway, Syracuse Sophomore (Goalie), Syracuse, N.Y.
Diogo Godoi, Massachusetts Senior (Defense), Loudon, N.H.
Casey Grugan, Cabrini Senior (Attack), Ridley Park, PA
Eric Hagarty, Endicott Junior (Goalie), Sudbury, MA
Jack Harmatuk, Le Moyne Junior (Attack), Syracuse, N.Y.
Billy Henderson, Army Junior (Defense), Tully, N.Y.
Brent Herbst, Siena Senior (Goalie), Plainview, N.Y.
Ryan Hurley, Cornell Junior (Attack), Eagan, MN
Cody Jamieson, Syracuse Senior (Attack), Six Nations, Ontario
Adam Jones, Canisius Junior (Midfield), Owen Sound, Ontario
Brian Karalunas, Villanova Junior (Defense), Dewitt, N.Y.
Steven Kazimer, Stevenson Senior (Attack), Syracuse, N.Y.
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse Sophomore (Attack), Toronto, Ontario
Michael Kimmel, Johns Hopkins Senior (Midfield), Towson, MD
Grant Krebs, Notre Dame Senior (Midfield), Annapolis, MD
Mike Manley, Duke Junior (Defense), Keuka Park, N.Y.
Jack McBride, Princeton Junior (Attack), Madison, N.J.
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook Junior (Attack), New Westminster, B.C.
Parker McKee, Duke Senior (Defense), Old Greenwich, CT
Scott McKenzie, Princeton Senior (Attack), Livingston, MT
Thomas Muldoon, Brown Senior (Attack), Oakton, VA
Tom Palesky, Army Junior (Goalie), Plano, TX
Rob Pannell, Cornell Sophomore (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.
Tim Paul, Navy Senior (Attack), Parkton, MD
Justin Pennington, Rutgers Senior (Midfield), Flemington, N.J.
Tom Perini, Lafayette Junior (Attack), Huntington, N.Y.
Scott Rodgers, Notre Dame Senior (Goalie), Wantagh, N.Y.
Dillon Roy, Denver Senior (Defense), Denver, CO
Max Silberlicht, Hobart Junior (Goalie), New Hartford, N.Y.
Steele Stanwick, Virginia Sophomore (Attack), Baltimore, MD
Matt Vernam, Navy Sophomore (Defense), Shoreham, N.Y.
Steven Waldeck, Stony Brook Senior (Defense), Levittown, N.Y.
Joel White, Syracuse - Sophomore (Defense), Cortland, N.Y.
Kyle Wimer, UMBC Freshman (Midfield), Lancaster, PA
Austin Winter, Bucknell Senior (Attack), Booton Township, N.J.
Ryan Young, Maryland Junior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website