Endicott to Leave The Commonwealth Coast Conference

BEVERLY, Mass. Endicott College President Dr. Richard E. Wylie has announced that Endicott will be leaving The Commonwealth Coast Conference, a league in which it has been a member of since 1999. The College will be joining eight other institutions to establish a new conference which will begin competition in 2011-2012.

The new league, which is still unnamed, will consist of Endicott, Curry, Gordon, Nichols, Roger Williams, Salve Regina, University of New England, Wentworth Institute of Technology and Western New England. These institutions will complete play in The Commonwealth Coast Conference next year, leaving Anna Maria, Colby-Sawyer, Eastern Nazarene, New England College and Regis at the completion of 2010-11.

In its 11 years of TCCC play, Endicott has posted a record of 1,173 wins, 398 losses and five ties, good for a winning-percentage of 74.4%. The Gulls have captured 37 TCCC championships and made 38 NCAA appearances during their decade-plus tenure in the league. The Commonwealth Coast Conference has grown to 14 member institutions, limiting the number of non-conference opportunities available for regular season play.

"We have truly valued our relationship with The Commonwealth Coast Conference," stated Endicott President Richard Wylie. "We believe the new conference will share greater commonality than the 14 team TCCC and will provide a high level of competition with corresponding standards for our student-athletes."

The following Endicott programs will be affected by the change: baseball/softball, basketball (m/w), cross country (m/w), golf (m), lacrosse (m/w), soccer (m/w), tennis (m/w), volleyball (w), and field hockey. The Commonwealth Coast Conference does not sponsor league play for football, men's volleyball or equestrian.


Create a free lacrosse website