All-American Lacrosse Conference Teams and Awards

EVANSTON, Ill. -- The American Lacrosse Conference has announce its end of season awards, and not surprisingly Northwestern racked up a number of honors. Kelly Amonte Hiller was tabbed as the ALC's Coach of the Year for the sixth time in her career while senior Katrina Dowd was named the conference's Player of the Year, marking the sixth-straight year that honor has gone to a Wildcat.

Amonte Hiller continues to show why she is one of the sport's top coaches, guiding second-ranked Northwestern to a 15-1 mark thus far in 2010 while leading the Wildcats to a perfect 5-0 regular season ALC mark. This is the fifth-straight outright regular season conference title for Northwestern who will be the top seed in this weekend's ALC Championship in Columbus, Ohio. Amonte Hiller, a three-time IWLCA National Coach of the Year, enters the weekend with a 149-25 record in her nine seasons in Evanston.

Dowd, a four-time ALC Offensive Player of the Week in 2010, led the conference in scoring averaging 5.40 points per game, which is second nationally. She also ranks third in the nation in goals per game (3.80) and is 21st in draw controls (3.13). Dowd leads the Wildcats in points (81), goals (57), assists (24) and ground balls (32) while ranking second in both caused turnovers (19) and draws (47). She becomes the third-straight Wildcat to be named the ALC's Player of the Year, joining Kristen Kjellman (2005-07) and Hannah Nielsen (2008-09).

In addition, six Northwestern student-athletes were named to the All-Conference teams, the most of any school. Dowd was joined on the ALC first team by fellow attackers Danielle Spencer and Shannon Smith, while midfielder Alexandra Frank and defenders Colleen Magarity and Taylor Thornton were named to the All-ALC second team. Thornton, coincidentally, finished second in the Rookie of the Year voting to Florida's Ashley Bruns while Ohio State's Annie Carruthers was named the Goalkeeper of the Year.

Northwestern is preparing for this weekend's American Lacrosse Conference Championship at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. The Wildcats received a first-round bye and will play the winner of the Ohio State - Penn State quarterfinal on Friday, May 7 at 2:00 p.m. CT in the semifinals. Should Northwestern reach the championship game, the opening draw is set for 1:00 p.m. CT Saturday, May 8.

2010 All-American Lacrosse Conference Honors
Player of the Year: Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Goalkeeper of the Year: Annie Carruthers, Ohio State
Rookie of the Year: Ashley Bruns, Florida
Coach of the Year: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern

All-ALC First Team
Theresa Bucci, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Annie Carruthers, Ohio State
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt
Maggie Dunbar, Penn State
Kelly Haggerty, Ohio State
Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Alex Mundy, Vanderbilt
Shannon Smith, Northwestern
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern

All-ALC Second Team
Ashley Bruns, Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Jackie Eastman, Penn State
Carter Foote, Vanderbilt
Alexandra Frank, Northwestern
Cosette Larash, Johns Hopkins
Colleen Magarity, Northwestern
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Jamie Reeg, Florida
Candace Rossi, Johns Hopkins
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern
Natalie Wills, Vanderbilt


Create a free lacrosse website