All-Colonial (CAA) Teams and Awards Announced

HARRISONBURG, Va. (May 5, 2010) - Towson senior midfielder Hillary Fratzke (Centreville, Md./Queen Anne's County) was selected as the 2010 Colonial Athletic Association women's lacrosse Player of Year by a vote of the league's head coaches. She was presented with the honor at an awards banquet on Wednesday evening at James Madison University prior to the CAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Also receiving top honors were William & Mary junior defender Sarah Jonson (Dallas, Texas/The Hockaday School) as the CAA Defensive Player of the Year, James Madison freshman attacker Casey Ancarrow (Jarrettsville, Md./John Carroll) as the CAA Rookie of the Year, and JMU head coach Shelley Klaes-Bawcombe as the CAA Coach of the Year.

Fratzke, a member of the CAA Women's Lacrosse Silver Anniversary team, earned her second Player of Year honor in the last three years and is the first Towson player named to the All-CAA first team three times.The midfielder is the third player in CAA history to earn the award multiple times, joining Loyola's Michelle Meyer and James Madison's Lisa Staedt. She scored 48 goals and led the CAA with nearly four draw controls per game this season. Fratzke currently owns the longest scoring streak in the nation, having tallied at least a point in 70-straight games and scored at least one goal in 64-consecutive contests.

Jonson anchored a Tribe defense that led the nation with 13 caused turnovers per game. The junior tallied a league-leading 42 caused turnovers this season, despite missing the final five games due to injury. She also had 53 ground balls, ranking second at William & Mary this season. Jonson is ranked third in program history with 96 caused turnovers and needs just 34 more to break the all-time record.

Ancarrow excelled in her freshman season, ranking among the top-10 in the conference with 18 assists. She also found the net 26 times this year for the Dukes and led the team in scoring four times. The attacker was named CAA Rookie of the week four times this season and was the Player of the Week once.

In her fourth season at the helm, Klaes-Bawcombe earned her first Coach of the Year honor at James Madison after leading the Dukes to a 14-2 record and an unblemished 7-0 record in conference play. The Dukes are ranked No. 7 in the most recent IWLCA/Under Armour Coaches Poll and posted wins over five nationally ranked opponents this season. She also won the CAA Coach of the Year award in 2005 after leading Hofstra to a 14-4 record and the league's regular-season title.

JMU had a league-high four All-CAA first-team selections. Named to the squad were junior attacker Mary Kate Lomady, senior midfielder Kim Griffin, sophomore defender Cally Chakrian, and senior goalkeeper Morgan Kelly.

Towson and Hofstra both had three first-team selections. Joining Fratzke from the Tigers were junior attacker Jess Dunn and senior midfielder Nikki Marcinik . Chosen from the Pride were senior attacker Liz Falco, senior midfielder Corrine Gandolfi and junior defender Katie Hertsch. Joining Jonson on the first team from William & Mary was junior midfielder Grace Golden.

The CAA Women's Lacrosse Championship begins Thursday at 5:00 p.m. in Harrisonburg, Va. when top-seeded James Madison hosts No. 4 William & Mary. The second semifinal match between No. 2 Towson and No. 3 Hofstra will follow at 7:30 p.m. The winners will advance to Saturday's 5:00 p.m. championship game.

First Team All-CAA
Jess Dunn, Towson
Liz Falco, Hofstra
Mary Kate Lomady, James Madison
Hillary Fratzke, Towson
Corrine Gandolfi, Hofstra
Grace Golden, William & Mary
Kim Giffin, James Madison
Nikki Marcinik, Towson
Cally Chakrian, James Madison
Katie Hertsch, Hofstra
Sarah Jonson, Wiliam & Mary
Morgan Kelly, James Madison

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website