Onondaga Takes Juco Title for Second Straight Year

SYRACUSE, NY - The Onondaga Community College men's lacrosse team is the 2010 NJCAA National Champions following a win over Community College of Baltimore County-Essex 17-4. The Lazers swept the JUCO Final Four for the second consecutive year, posting big wins over the two teams that handed them regular season defeats.

This marks the fourth national title in five years for the Lazers, who also captured the Mid-State Athletic Conference and Region III championships, wrapping up the season with a 17-2 record.

"Out of all the national championships that we've won, this one ranks near the top," said Head Coach Chuck Wilbur. "We lost a couple games early, but we learned from it, got better from it, grew on it. We transformed into a very good team mentally -- these kids are tough, have huge hearts, and have great chemistry on the field. We were talented but needed more than that to come out on top, and we worked hard to get there this season."

Sophomore Shayne Jackson led the way for the Lazers, posting six goals and five assists - three of these goals in the third quarter alone. Goaltender Ian O'Brien also came up big, closing the door on Essex with 16 saves after letting up 22 against them earlier in the season.

Additionally, forwards Emmett Printup and Matt Crough had three goals each. Jackson earned Offensive Tournament MVP and O'Brien was named Defensive Tournament MVP. Printup, Matt Pratt, Rashad Cureton and Tyler Felice-Jennings were all named to the All-Tournament Team.


Create a free lacrosse website