Adelphi Downs West Chester to Repeat at Div. II Champion

GETTYSBURG, Pa. Adelphi University became the first Division II team to repeat as national champ with their 17-7 win over West Chester University on Sunday. Adelphi (19-1) broke an early two-all tie with an eight-goal run spanning the first and second halves and held off West Chester (19-2) down the stretch to earn its record fourth national championship.

The teams traded a pair of goals to start with the Rams' Lauren Glassey tying the game on a free-position shot at 17:47. That would be West Chester's last goal for 18 minutes as the Panthers hit the net for eight goals, beginning with a Marissa Mills free-position goal at 17:30 of the first period and ending with an Erica Devito score at 23:32 of the second half. Mills, Devito, and Kaitlyn Carter each tallied a pair of goals during the run, which propelled the defending champs to a 10-2 lead.

Perhaps no team showed as much adversity in the 2010 women's lacrosse championships than West Chester. The Golden Rams trailed by five to rival Lock Haven University in Saturday's semifinals before mounting a dramatic comeback for an overtime win. The squad began the rally 29 seconds after Adelphi's 10th goal when Erin Oczkowski struck for the first of four second-half free-position goals by West Chester. Claire Grimwood followed up with a free-position score before Mills tossed in her third goal of the game that made it 11-4 at 17:43.

The Rams jumped back on the horse with three more goals as Glassey put home two sandwiched around a tally by Grimwood that sliced the deficit to 11-7 with 14:27 to play. That would be the slimmest margin of the final period with West Chester striking out on its final seven shot attempts, including two that hit the post and three more that were stopped by Panther goalie Caitlin Fitzpatrick. Adelphi, meanwhile, countered with goals on six of its next nine shots to finish with the 10-goal win.

Despite the disparity on the board, most of the other stat categories were fairly even. The teams both corralled 20 ground balls and Adelphi held a slim 28-27 lead in shots. West Chester did win the battle off the draw with 17 of 25 draw controls.

Devito led the Panthers with six points on five goals and one assist. Carter posted five goals and Mills and tournament Most Outstanding Player Elizabeth Fey each tallied three goals. Joining that trio on the All-Tournament team were Holly Burke and Fitzpatrick, who finished with a game-high 14 saves.

West Chester finished as the national runner-up for the sixth time since Division II started holding a tournament in 2001. Glassey and Oczkowski each copped All-Tournament accolades after netting three and two goals, respectively, for West Chester. Grimwood added a pair of goals and was also named All-Tournament, while Katy Crouse posted five draw controls and seven caused turnovers.

Also named to the Division II All-Tournament Team were Kira Nuttall and Katie Zichelli of Lock Haven and Brianne Jackolski and Chelsea Donaldson of C.W. Post.


Create a free lacrosse website