Ben DeLuca Succeeds Tambroni as Cornell's Head Coach

DeLuca donned the Carnelian Red and White for three years under legendary coach Richie Moran, before becoming a captain his senior year under former head coach Dave Pietramala. A four-year letter winner on defense for the Big Red, he was voted the team's outstanding senior athlete for his leadership and dedication on and off the field. DeLuca earned a Bachelor of Science degree in nutritional sciences and biochemistry in 1998.

A native of Rochester, N.Y., DeLuca resides in Ithaca with his wife, Laurie and their daughter, Elizabeth.

Tambroni leaves Cornell as the second all-time winningest coach in program history with a record of 109-40. The 2009 Morris Touchstone Award winner as the USILA Coach of the Year, Tambroni was also named the 2007 and the 2009 FieldTurf/NCAA Division I Coach of the Year in men's lacrosse, as well as the Ithaca Journal Male Coach of the Year in 2004 and 2009. Tambroni led the Big Red to eight Ivy League titles and the 2010 campaign marked the eighth time that Cornell advanced to the NCAA tournament during his tenure, making it to the quarterfinal round six times, the semifinals three times and the national championship game once.

"I also join the Cornell lacrosse community in wishing Coach Tambroni much success and happiness at Penn State," Noel said. "We appreciate all that he invested in the young men in our program and he leaves Coach DeLuca with an extremely strong foundation which we can continue to build Cornell lacrosse."

During his tenure, Tambroni's players earned 37 first-team All-Ivy honors, including five Ivy League Player of the Year awards and three Rookie of the Year selections. He has also helped his players to earn a combined 43 All-America honors. Under Tambroni's tutelage, Joe Boulukos '06 became the first Big Red player in nearly a decade to win one of the major USILA honors, earning a share of the Lt. j.g. Donald McLaughlin Jr. Award as the nation's top midfielder.

In 2007, the Big Red swept the defensive honors given by the USILA, as Mitch Belisle '07 earned the Schmeisser Cup as the Outstanding Defenseman in Division I, and Matt McMonagle '07 won the Ensign C.M. Kelly, Jr. Award as the Outstanding Goaltender in Division I. That same season, Max Seibald was named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy, becoming the first Cornell player to earn that distinction. Seibald went on to collect most of college lacrosse's major hardware in 2009, winning the Tewaaraton Trophy, while being named the Lt. j.g. Donald McLaughlin Jr. Award winner, as well as the Lt. Raymond Enners Award winner as the Outstanding Player in Division I.

Over the last six seasons (2005-10), Tambroni led Cornell to the heights of Division I, boasting the third highest winning percentage of all Division I teams during that span (.777) and ranking third in number of victories (73). Likewise, since March 28, 2005, the Big Red has been ranked in the top 10 of both major national polls for all but one week. The Big Red concluded the 2010 season with a 12-6 record after seeing is improbable run to the national semifinal ended by Notre Dame.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website