LaxPower's National Online Lacrosse Tourney Set to Begin

LaxPower is happy to announce the second annual National Online Lacrosse Tournament (NOLT), the virtual national high school lacrosse championship. Sixty-four teams qualified for the 2010 NOLT with the following teams receiving berths:

  • The top-ranked team in each state and the top team in the New England Preparatory School Athletic Council according to LaxPower's final Power Rankings for the 2010 season.

  • The 24 highest-rated teams remaining in the country received bids based on their final Power Rankings for the 2010 season. Any ties were broken based on strength of schedule.

Teams were seeded by power rating on an S-curve to create tournament brackets, and winners were determined based on votes from a panel of LaxPower experts as well the LaxPower Power Rankings.

First-round winners will be posted starting Monday, July 26, with successive rounds being published in the following days.

Let the games begin! See how your team stacks up against the best lacrosse this country has to offer, and let the world know what you think about which team is tops in the United States.

Here are some interesting facts about this year's field:
  • Last year's NOLT runner-up, Gilman (MD), did not make the tournament field this year.

  • In all, 26 of the 64 teams who earned a spot in 2009 are back in 2010. That includes West Islip (NY), which won the 2009 NOLT.

  • The last team in? De La Salle (CA). Lincoln-Sudbury (MA) was the first team out.

  • New York has the most teams in the field, with 11.

  • New Mexico did not receive a bid because only four teams play a very limited number of games and there is no state championship.

LaxPower's Experts

Brett Manney - Four-year letterman at University of Delaware and 2008 captain; plays professionally for the NLL champion Washington Stealth. He previously played for the San Jose Stealth and Chesapeake Bayhawks.

Ryan Rohde - All-American and member of three National Champion teams at Salisbury University.

George Baldassare - Director of high school boys' lacrosse for LaxPower since 1998. An assistant high school coach and served on the staff of two undefeated World Championship USA U19 teams in 2003 and 2008.

Mr. X A long-time lacrosse player and coach who may be the most interesting man in the world (according to his own tongue-in-cheek self-assessment), Mr. X will offer his brilliant assessments behind the shield of anonymity.

The four brackets appear beginning on the following page.

1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website