North Carolina Lacrosse Team Taps Captains for 2011

CHAPEL HILL, N.C.-Senior midfielder Michael Burns of Medford Lakes, N.J. and senior defenseman Ryan Flanagan of West Islip, N.Y., were unanimously voted co-captains of the 2011 University of North Carolina men's lacrosse team, head coach Joe Breschi announced Friday.

Both Burns and Flanagan will return for their senior years as two of Carolina's most experienced players and starters in the short-stick defense midfield and on close defense, respectively, for most of their Tar Heel careers.

Burns red-shirted his true freshman year in 2007 but has been one of Carolina top defensive mids and a key face-off man the past three years. He won the team's ground ball award in 2010 with 60 while winning 48 percent of his face-offs. Burns took 288 of Carolina's 370 face-offs in 2010. He scored seven goals and had 15 takeaways.

Flanagan has been Carolina's most valuable defensive player each of the past two years. He won the Schmeisser Memorial Cup as the co-winner of the national defenseman of the-year award in 2010 when he was also named a first-team All-America and an All-ACC selection. Flanagan led the Tar Heels in takeaways with 36 in 2010 and was second in ground balls with 51.


Create a free lacrosse website