Adelphi Lacrosse Announces New Additions, Fall Schedule

Garden City, N.Y. - Adelphi University's head men's lacrosse coach Gordon Purdie announced both the 2010 fall schedule and the addition of 16 members to the lacrosse squad on Monday, October 11. The Panthers will open up play in their fall schedule on October 17 at the Farmingdale Tournament.

Adelphi will take part in two tournaments this fall, the Farmingdale Tournament at SUNY Farmingdale and the Wounded Warrior Tournament at Suffolk County Community College. The Farmingdale Tournament will take place on October 17th and feature games against Kean (11:40 am), Nassau (12:30 pm) and local rival NYIT (1:20 pm).

Play in the Wounded Warrior Tournament will commence on October 24 and will see Adelphi take on C.W. Post (9:00am), the host, Suffolk CCC (12:00 pm), Robert Morris (1:30 pm) and will conclude with Army (3:00pm).

"I am excited to see so many new faces that are willing to work hard to achieve a common dream. We lost ten seniors who we will greatly miss," Purdie stated. "Our incoming class however, gives us depth, speed, and with five transfers, a wealth of experience."

Vinny Alestra of Smithtown West High School is a three-year member of the varsity lacrosse team and started 18 games as a senior at defense.

Brian Carney of Plainedge High School is a three-year member of the varsity lacrosse team, and was named team captain, best defender, and earned All-County Honorable Mention as a senior playing defense and longstick midfield.

Ken Fundus of Massapequa was a four year varsity lacrosse player and was named captain and All County his senior year for his efforts in the midfield.

Thomas Hayes, an attackman from South Side High School in Rockville Center, was a four year letter winner in lacrosse and earned the Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation unsung hero award as a senior.

Bryan Hall, from Division High School in Levittown, was a four year member of the varsity lacrosse team as an attackman. During his time he earned two All-County nods and two academic All-Conference awards.

Wayne Marx comes to Adelphi after playing two years on the Smithtown West varsity lacrosse team. Marx received All-County and Best Defensemen on the team honors as a junior while being named All-Division as a senior.

Nicholas Massaro, of Sachem-East High School, played three years of varsity lacrosse, and was named captain his senior year. He was a member of the "For the Love of the Game" team, and he also a member of the LI Selects travel team as a defenseman.

Will Miller was a four year varsity lacrosse player at Weston High School in Connecticut. He was named All-Conference junior and senior year as defenseman, and was named captain senior year. Will also was an All-State selection senior year, made the 2010 All-Area Post Team, and played in the 2010 Senior All-Star Game

Perry Naviasky played four years of varsity lacrosse as a goalkeeper for Roslyn High School. During this time he was a two-time all-county selection and earned all-conference honors. He also received the Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation Fran McCall unsung hero award.

Stuart Prevo played three seasons of varsity lacrosse at Simsbury High School in C.T. During this time he was named a blue chip 225 all-star as a sophomore, as well as earning the unsung hero award. He also earned all-conference and all-state as a senior.

Greg Puskuldjian, a three year member of the varsity lacrosse team at North Shore High School, he led his team in goals and assists senior year from the midfield.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website