Ohio State Names Captains for 2011 Lacrosse Squad

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The five captains for the 2011 Ohio State men's lacrosse team were announced at the team's annual banquet Sunday. The group includes seniors Jarred Bowman, Conor David, Scott Lathrop, and Bryce Woodson and junior Brock Sorensen. The captains were selected by a vote of their teammates. The five selected were part of a group of players who indicated an interest in leading the team before practice began and auditioned throughout fall camp.

"We're really proud of these five young men," Nick Myers, Ohio State head coach, said. "They're going to be great leaders for us. They have a real passion for not only this program and the lacrosse family here but really what it means to be a Buckeye."

Cincinnati, Ohio native Bowman has played in 31 games for the Buckeyes. He saw action in all 15 games a season ago and had three goals, four assists and seven points. He received the team's Sportsmanship Award after earning the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Ohio State men's lacrosse in 2010 and is a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, two-time Academic All-Big Ten choice and ECAC All-Academic Team selection.

David, a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection from Bloomfield Hills, Mich., is a defenseman for the Buckeyes. He was a recipient of the 2010 Unsung Hero Award after playing in all 15 games, scooping up 23 groundballs along with 10 caused turnovers. He has played in 34 games for the Scarlet and Gray, with 37 career groundballs.

Lathrop, who hails from Columbus, Ohio, has played in every game (48) since joining the Buckeyes. He has 39 groundballs, along with two goals, there assists and five points. The team's 2008 Outstanding Freshman award winner, he is a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete, two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and was named to the ECAC All-Academic Team.

Sorensen, from Peterborough, Ontario, has played in 29 games for the Scarlet and Gray, starting 10 and playing in 13 as a sophomore last year. He has five goals, three assists and eight points along with 36 groundballs and 11 caused turnovers. Sorensen is the first junior to serve as captain for the Buckeyes since Jason Bloom as a redshirt-junior in 2005. Since 1998 other Buckeyes to earn a captains spot as a junior include Tom Randisi (2003), Kevin Stephan (2001) and Peter Dillon (2001). In 1998, Mike Abeles and Jon Torpey both were named captains as sophomores and went on to be three-time captains.

Woodson, from Virginia Beach, Va., has appeared in 38 games for the Buckeyes, including each game over the last two years. He has seven assists, with four as a sophomore in 2009 and three a year ago, along with 22 groundballs.


Create a free lacrosse website