Petracca & Delaney Named 2010 Tar Heel Co-MVPS

The Danny Fox Memorial Award for Service to Carolina Lacrosse was presented by Breschi to Spencer Welborn, the team's academic advisor. The award is named in honor of the late Danny Fox, one of the program's greatest benefactors who passed away suddenly in 2002 at a young age. It honors his service to the lacrosse program and had been awarded annually under a previous name since 1981.

The Class of 1986 Dan Andrews Award for Sportsmanship was presented to Stevie Kirkup, a freshman attackman from Severna Park, Md. Kirkup received the award from Breschi in recognition of his undying spirit and return to the lacrosse field this fall after having four major knee surgeries in the past two years. Kirkup took a redshirt year in 2009-10 when he had to undergo three of those surgeries in a span of just a few months.

The Kevin Reichardt Memorial Award goes to the team's most improved player and has been awarded annually since 1984. It was renamed for the late UNC midfielder Kevin Reichardt who tragically lost his life in 1995 while a sophomore at Carolina. This year's winner was sophomore attackman Thomas Wood of Richmond, Va. After producing eight points as a freshman in 2008, Wood improved his numbers dramatically in 2009, finishing as the team's third leading scorer with 43 points despite missing three games with a broken thumb. Wood led the Tar Heels with 30 goals and scored on an amazing 46.9 percent of his shots while ranking second in man-up goals with six.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website