Long Island U. Lacrosse Announces 2011 Game Slate

Brooklyn, N.Y. Head coach Heather Levins has announced the Long Island University women's lacrosse schedule for the 2011 season. Levins and the Blackbirds will play a 16-game slate that is highlighted by six home games at LIU Field. LIU will also play nine Northeast Conference contests.

LIU will open the 2011 season on Tuesday, March 1, with a non-conference tilt at Villanova. Following another road trip at Siena on Saturday, March 5, the Blackbirds will host Iona in their home-opener on Wednesday, March 9.

The rest of the non-conference slate includes a pair of games in Jacksonville, Fla., against Jacksonville and Presbyterian on March 16 and 19, respectively. LIU will also visit local rival Manhattan on March 23 before hosting UC Davis on March 27.

The conference schedule opens at Wagner on March 25 and will also include road trips to Mount St. Mary's, Monmouth, Sacred Heart and Quinnipiac. The Blackbirds will host conference games against Saint Francis (Pa.), Robert Morris, Central Connecticut State and Bryant.

The top four teams in the NEC regular season standings will compete for the Northeast Conference championship. The tournament will be hosted at the highest seed with the semifinals on April 29 and the championship game on May 1.

Day    Date       Opponent                 Time
Tue. March 1 at Villanova 5:00 p.m.
Sat. March 5 at Siena 11:00 a.m.
Wed. March 9 Iona 4:00 p.m.
Wed. March 16 at Jacksonville 4:00 p.m.
Sat. March 19 vs. Presbyterian +
Wed. March 23 at Manhattan 4:00 p.m.
Fri. March 25 at Wagner * 4:00 p.m.
Sun. March 27 UC Davis 11:00 a.m.
Fri. April 1 at Mount St. Mary's * 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 3 at Monmouth * 1:00 p.m.
Fri. April 8 Saint Francis (Pa.) * 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 10 Robert Morris* 1:00 p.m.
Fri. April 15 at Sacred Heart * 4:00 p.m.
Sun. April 17 at Quinnipiac * 12:00 p.m.
Thu. April 21 Central Connecticut * 2:00 p.m.
Sat. April 23 Bryant* 1:00 p.m.
Fri. April 29 NEC Tournament (hosted by top seed)
Sun. May 1 NEC Tournament (hosted by top seed)

* Northeast Conference game
+ at Jacksonville Univ., Fla.
All times are Eastern

2010-12-03



Create a free lacrosse website