Preseason All-ECAC Division I Lacrosse League Team

CAPE COD, Mass. - The seven coaches in the ECAC Division I Lacrosse League have cast their votes and selected the 2011 Preseason All-ECAC Team, as well as preseason Defensive, Offensive, and Rookie of the Year honorees.

Five of the twelve players named are coming from the Loyola Greyhounds squad which has been picked to finish second by the league's coaches. Defending League Champions, Denver, who has also been picked to finish first this year, will carry the preseason Offensive Player of the Year, Mark Matthews, as well as Jamie Faus, the preseason Rookie of the Year. Air Force's 2010 All-ECAC Team selection Dayton Gilbreath has been selected the 2011 preseason Defensive Player of the Year. Two Fairfield players were selected to the team, and the third attacker reigns from The Ohio State.

Denver's roster contains the ECAC preseason Rookie of the Year for the second year in a row. Faus, a goalkeeper from Lakeville, Conn., played at Salisbury School. He was selected as an All-American in 2009, as well as the 2009 Western New England Seconday School Lacrosse Administration Division I Best Goalie.

Matthews returns to ECAC recognition after being selected to the 2010 All-ECAC first team. Last spring, the Ontario native played all 17 games for the Pioneers, scoring in 15 of them. His eight hat tricks contributed to his team-leading 38 goals, averaging 2.12 per game; that was good enough for fourth in the ECAC. Before attending Denver, the communications major was a Team Canada member.

Gilbreath joins his brother, Bryan, on the defensive end of the preseason All-ECAC Team, as well as being selected the preseason Defensive Player of the Year. The junior, an All-American while in high school in Washington, was part of the 2010 All-ECAC first team. He was also selected to the preseason All-ECAC team last year.

2011 Preseason All-ECAC Team
A Mark Matthews, Denver * Jr.
A Alex Demopoulos, Denver * Jr.
A Logan Schuss, Ohio State * So.
M Brent Adams, Fairfield *# Jr.
M Eric Lusby, Loyola * Sr.
M Josh Hawkins, Loyola So.
D Dayton Gilbreath, Air Force * Jr.
D Bryan Gilbreath, Air Force * Sr.
D Brendan McTague, Fairfield * Sr.
D Steve Dircks, Loyola ^ Sr.
Sp. John Schiavone, Loyola (FO/M) *# Sr.
G Jake Hagelin, Loyola *^ Sr.

* 2010 All-ECAC
# 2009 All-ECAC
^ 2008 All-ECAC

Offensive Player of the Year: Mark Matthews, Denver Jr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Dayton Gilbreath, Air Force Jr.
Rookie of the Year: Jamie Faus, Denver Fr.

Preseason Coaches' Poll
#1 Denver
#2 Loyola
#3 Fairfield
#4 Ohio State
#5 Hobart
#6 Air Force
#7 Bellarmine


Create a free lacrosse website