USILA Awards for Contributions to Collegiate Lacrosse

Each year the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association honors three outstanding individuals for their contributions to the collegiate lacrosse game.

The Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award is presented in honor of one of the sport's most outstanding coaches. Howdy Myers coached 17 championship teams at St. Paul's, Johns Hopkins, and Hofstra Universities. Myers was elected to the Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1971. The nominee for this award should have contributed to the game of lacrosse in a capacity over and above the normal efforts and in so doing, has shown unselfish and untiring devotion to the game. The 2010 Recipient of the Howdy Myers Man of the Year Award is:

Dave Urick
Dave is the all-time winningest coach in college lacrosse with 331 wins, passing the legendary Jack Emmer during the 2010 season. Urick spent 10 years as the head coach at Hobart, where he won 10 consecutive national titles. The past 21 years Dave has been the head coach at Georgetown where he has brought the Hoyas program to national prominence and one of the elite programs in the country. Georgetown has made the NCAA Tournament in 11 of the past 14 seasons under Urick and during that stretch, the program advanced to the quarterfinals 9 times.

* * * *

The Frenchy Julien Service Award is presented in honor of former Chief Referee, Joseph R." Frenchy" Julien for outstanding and continuous service to the sport of lacrosse. This individual has rendered a lifetime of service, accomplishments and contributions to the sport. The 2010 recipient of the Frenchy Julien Award is:

David Slafkosky
From 1975 to 1983 David was the Assistant Lacrosse Coach at the United States Military Academy with Al Pisano and then Dick Edell. In 1983 he moved to the University of Maryland where he served as Edell's assistant for seventeen more years and then the next nine years with Dave Cottle. David has held both defensive coordinator and offensive coordinator positions at Maryland. He has been to the NCAA Tournament 24 times, 9 Final Fours and 3 NCAA Championship Games.

* * * *

The Doyle Smith Sports Information/Media Award is presented in honor of the career of outstanding service provided to lacrosse by longtime Virginia Assistant Sports Information Director Doyle Smith. Smith defined the game of collegiate lacrosse through his media releases and statistical and national poll coverage of the sport. His contributions to the former NCAA Lacrosse Rulebook and Guide paved the way for many of the sport's great media efforts today on TV, the Internet, and in print. The winner of this award can come from college sports information offices or from the media. The nominee has contributed greatly to the promotion and coverage of the sport. This year's winner of the Doyle Smith Award is:

Jerry Price
Jerry Price has helped promote the sport of lacrosse for the past 22 years in every role imaginable working for five seasons as a newspaper reporter for the Trenton Times and for the last 17 years as the athletic communications contact at Princeton University. His resume includes serving the game as a sports information contact, sportswriter, radio broadcaster, television commentator, feature writer as well as historian. Jerry currently writes four to six feature stories per year that are reproduced not only on the Princeton website but also several other online sites. He was part of a small group that wrote the NCAA's Official Statisticians' Manual two years ago and refined it last year. Jerry has served as the official statistician at the last six NCAA championship weekends. He has also been a youth lacrosse coach for the past seven years.


Create a free lacrosse website