Ohio State Releases Lacrosse Schedule for 2011 Season

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Alexis Venechanos, first-year head coach of the Ohio State women's lacrosse team, announced the Buckeyes' schedule for the 2011 season this week. The 15-game schedule features six home games and five total contests vs. teams in the 2010 NCAA Tournament.

"We are extremely excited for the upcoming lacrosse season," Venechanos said. "The non-conference schedule allows us to compete against the top teams from across the nation and will get us prepared for a very competitive ALC conference."

The Buckeyes open the 2011 slate with three-consecutive road games, beginning Feb. 12 in Durham, N.C., against Duke, a 2010 NCAA quarterfinalist, and continuing Feb. 18 at Navy, also a tourney participant, in Annapolis, Md., and Feb. 20 at American in the nation's capital.

Ohio State returns to Columbus and opens the home schedule vs. St. Bonaventure Feb. 27 before hosting a weekend of lacrosse against Stanford March 5 and Canisius March 7. The Cardinal and Griffs will face each other March 6 on a neutral field.

Venechanos takes the team back on the road to South Bend, Ind., for a March 10 game against Notre Dame, a member of last year's tournament field, before taking a 10-day break and returning to action vs. California March 20 in Columbus. This is the final season of lacrosse for the Golden Bears, who will discontinue the program after 2011.

The Buckeyes open the ALC slate at Florida March 26, take on Louisville on the road April 3 and return home for the second conference game against Vanderbilt April 10. Three-consecutive road games follow, with the Buckeyes heading to Detroit April 12, Penn State April 17 and five-time national champion Northwestern April 22.

The regular-season concludes at home, however, as Ohio State welcomes Johns Hopkins April 30 for senior day.

Vanderbilt will host the 2011 ALC Tournament May 5-8 in Nashville, Tenn., with the winner receiving an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament, set to begin May 14 on campus sites. It continues with the quarterfinals May 22 and the national semifinals and final May 27 and 29, respectively, in Stony Brook, N.Y.

All home games are scheduled for Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium, the 8,000-seat natural grass home for Buckeye soccer and lacrosse.

Day & Date    Opponent                Location                 Time (ET)

Sat, Feb 12 Duke at Durham, NC 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 18 Navy at Annapolis, Md. 7:00 p.m.
Sun, Feb 20 American at Washington, DC 12:00 p.m.
Sun, Feb 27 St. Bonaventure Columbus, Ohio 2:00 p.m.

Sat, Mar 05 Stanford Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Sun, Mar 06 Canisius vs. Stanford at Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Mon, Mar 07 Canisius Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Thu, Mar 10 Notre Dame at South Bend, Ind. 3:00 p.m.
Sun, Mar 20 California Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 26 Florida * at Gainesville, Fla. 1:00 p.m.

Sun, Apr 03 Louisville at Louisville, Ky. 1:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 10 Vanderbilt * Columbus, Ohio 12:00 p.m.
Tue, Apr 12 Detroit at Detroit, Mich. 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 17 Penn State * at State College, Pa. 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 22 Northwestern * at Evanston, Ill. 7:00 p.m.
Sat, Apr 30 Johns Hopkins * Columbus, Ohio 1:00 p.m.

Thu, May 05-
Sun, May 08 ALC Tournament at Nashville, Tenn.

2010-12-16



Create a free lacrosse website