Lacrosse Magazine 2011 Preseason Rankings and Awards

BALTIMORE Lacrosse Magazine, the flagship publication of US Lacrosse, today released its annual preseason college rankings, predicting nine of 11 defending national champions to repeat as title-winners in 2011. The magazine also named its Preseason Player of the Year in each division of play.

The rankings, compiled by Lacrosse Magazine staff after consultations with coaches, predict Maryland to win its second straight NCAA Division I women's championship. Syracuse has been tabbed the preseason favorite to capture the NCAA Division I men's championship.

Champions from 2010 selected to repeat: C.W. Post (NCAA Division II men), Adelphi (NCAA Division II women), Tufts (NCAA Division III men), Colorado State (US Lacrosse Women's Division Intercollegiate Associates), Michigan (Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association Division I), St. Thomas (MCLA Division II) and Onondaga (National Junior College Athletic Association men) and Monroe (NJCAA women). Lacrosse Magazine slotted Hamilton, a runner-up in 2010, as the preseason No. 1 in NCAA Division III women.

The magazine honored 11 student-athletes as the best lacrosse players in their respective divisions. Stony Brook senior Kevin Crowley took home honors among NCAA Division I men. The 6-foot-4 midfielder, who won the USILA's Player of the Year award last season in part for his 51-goal, 26-assist season, is a big reason for the Seawolves' preseason No. 4 ranking.

Maryland attacker Karri Ellen Johnson, a two-time first-team All-American, should continue her offensive exploits as the magazine's NCAA Division I women's Preseason Player of the Year. Johnson has scored 143 goals in two seasons, and she scored three times in the Terrapins' 13-11 win over five-time defending champion Northwestern in last season's NCAA final.

The rankings and preseason honorees appear below and are profiled in the January issue of Lacrosse Magazine. Expanded college previews will run in the February issue. Subscription information appears below.

NCAA Division I Men
1. Syracuse
2. Virginia
3. North Carolina
4. Stony Brook
5. Maryland
6. Princeton
7. Notre Dame
8. Duke
9. Hofstra
10. Cornell
11. Army
12. JohnsHopkins
13. Loyola
14. Denver
15. Georgetown
16. Villanova
17. Drexel
18. Delaware
19. UMass
20. Yale

Preseason Player of the Year: Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook

NCAA Division I Women
1. Maryland
2. Northwestern
3. North Carolina
4. Duke
5. Syracuse
6. Georgetown
7. Virginia
8. Penn
9. JamesMadison
10. Notre Dame
11. Vanderbilt
12. Stanford
13. Loyola
14. Dartmouth
15. Penn State
16. Towson
17. Florida
18. Princeton
19. BostonCollege
20. Hofstra

Preseason Player of the Year: Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland

NCAA Division II Men
1. C.W. Post
2. Le Moyne
3. Mercyhurst
4. Limestone
5. Merrimack
6. Dowling
8. Adelphi
9. Bentley
10. Queens

Preseason Player of the Year: Jack Harmatuk, Le Moyne

NCAA Division II Women
1. Adelphi
2. Lock Haven
3. C.W. Post
4. Le Moyne
5. Limestone
6. WestChester
7. Stonehill
8. Mercyhurst
9. Gannon
10. Dowling

Preseason Player of the Year: Claire Petersen, Adelphi

NCAA Division III Men
1. Tufts
2. Cortland
3. Salisbury
4. Stevenson
5. Middlebury
6. Haverford
7. Gettysburg
8. Roanoke
9. RIT
10. Connecticut College
11. RPI
12. Dickinson
13. Lynchburg
14. Geneseo
15. Nazareth
16. Cabrini
17. Denison
18. Endicott
19. Bowdoin
20. Goucher

Preseason Player of the Year: DJ Hessler, Tufts

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website