Notre Dame de Namur Names Its 2011 Lacross Captains

January 14 The Notre Dame de Namur lacrosse team and coach Stephen Dini have named their captains for the upcoming 2011 season. Seniors Greg Bearson, Nick Peterson, Brandon Miller, and Tom Safilian earned the designation as captains for the Argos.

"I am really excited to have four talented and experienced captains that can lead out team." Dini said. "Their leadership will be instrumental in bringing our young team together."

Bearson (Sammamish, WA/Eastlake HS) is a two year starter for the Argos in the midfield. He led the team in scoring in each of the last two seasons, tallying 24 goals as a junior and 18 as a sophomore. Bearson also finished second in points with 31 and groundballs with 60 while being earning the Coach's Award.

Peterson (Las Vegas, NV/Centennial HS) has been a member of the Argonauts for the past three seasons. He finished his junior campaign with eight goals and nine assists while appearing in all 13 games. As a freshman, Peterson finished fifth on the team in points with 18 (nine goals, nine assists).

Miller (Calgary, Alberta) has been a staple on defense for NDNU over the past three seasons. He has appeared in 31 career games and started 27 of them. Miller was named NDNU Freshman of the Year in 2008 and is the vocal leader of the defense.

Safilian (Niwut, CO/Fairview HS) has played in both the midfield and on defense in his three years at NDNU. He has appeared in every game over the past two seasons, scoring one goal and adding an assist.

The Argos open up their season on February 16 with a trip to Phoenix to play Grand Canyon. While in Phoenix, the Argos will also take on perennial powerhouse C.W. Post as well as Pace University.


Create a free lacrosse website