La Roche Announces Inaugural Class & Captains for 2011

Pittsburgh, PA La Roche College men's lacrosse head coach Anthony Stamatopoulos announced 22 members who will make up the class of 2014. "We are very proud of this inaugural class. This is a class full of leaders, with high character and we think we put together the best initial group we possibly could have."

While this class is obviously young, it contains a few key transfers, 16 multi-sport athletes, and 17 players that captained their high school or junior teams at least one year. This has helped to bring some immediate leadership and maturity, which the Redhawks have been able to tap into.

"We are extremely pleased with the team's cohesion, and how they have taken it upon them selves to ensure they are building something special here at La Roche College. The team has also approached the student-athlete concept in a diligent manner and this is something we are very proud of. We believe in our bones that there isn't any ceiling for this program and we're confident we'll have a tremendous impact."

Stamatopoulos also announced that three captains have been selected to lead the program during the 2011 season: Matthew Hamill, Thomas (TJ) Leo, and Mitchell Banister.

"To have the opportunity and responsibility to be captains at this time in our program's history is such a huge deal. It was also great to see the team elect the same three guys the coaching staff selected. This helped to reinforce our team's decision-making abilities, and provided the captains with some extra momentum right out of the gate. Each of them brings different leadership styles to the table, which is only a bonus for our family. We have full confidence in them, because these three young men really lead by example, in aspects."

2011 La Roche College Men's Lacrosse Roster

Arsalan Arabani        M    Kingston, N.Y.      Kingston, High School
Bryce Wells M/G Cochrane, Alberta Cocharane High School
Crawford Healy A Calgary, Alberta Central Memorial High School
Darius McDonald D Chicago, IL Mather High School
John (Dom) Sacco D Allison park, PA Shaler Area High School
Dustin Reykdal M Red Deer, Alberta Huntiry Hills High School
Eugene LaBorde G Langhorne, PA Neshaminy High School
Jamal Blackwell LSM Owings Mills, MD Owings Mills
Jean-Guillaume Thouin M Laval, Quebec Horizon-Jennesse/Montmorency CC
Joe Ziegler ** M Allison park, PA Deer Lakes
Joseph Griffith A Laughlintown, PA Greensburg Central Catholic
Kiel Morris A Puyallup, WA Home Schooled/Puyallup
Matthew Hamill * M Cranberry twp. PA Seneca Valley/Slippery Rock
Mitchell Banister M Okotoks, Alberta Central Memorial
Nate Marsh D Latrobe, PA Greensburg Central Catholic
Sean Clark * M Pittsburgh, PA North Catholic
Shawn Teixeira M Calgargy, Alberta Central Memorial
Steve Murphy A Allison Park, PA Shaler Area High School
Timothy (TJ) Kretzler M Mars, PA Pine Richland
Thomas (TJ) Leo D Glenshaw, PA Shaler Area High School
Zackary Turner M Leetsdale, PA Quaker Valley High School
Torron Coleman * M Baltimore, MD St Francis Academy

* sophomore; ** senior; all other players are freshmen.

The Redhawks kick off the 2011 season with back-to-back games on February 19th against Albion College, and February 20th versus Carthage College in Pontiac, Michigan.


Create a free lacrosse website