High School Lacrosse Insider for March 23

Last season, Torrey Pines reached the CIF San Diego Section title game before falling to La Costa Canyon, 12-6. Arapahoe, meanwhile, went 16-2 in '10 and made it to the state semifinals before bowing out to Regis Jesuit, 4-3, in triple-overtime. Arapahoe last won the Colorado state championship in '09.

Elsewhere in the Golden State, a massive comeback staged by Foothill-Pleasanton fell short on Tuesday when San Ramon Valley won, 16-15 in overtime. San Ramon Valley stormed out to an 8-2 advantage at the end of the first quarter and seemingly had the game locked up early.

But behind standout attack Gabe Garcia, who finished with five goals, the Falcons went on a scoring tear in the final three quarters and eventually took a 15-14 lead late in the fourth. A goal by San Ramon Valley's Jordan Weiss with 60 seconds remaining iced the game at 15-15 and forced overtime. Then in the extra session, after a quick face-off win, North Carolina recruit Michael Tagliaferri scored the game-winner just 22 seconds into the frame.

The Wolves improved to 4-0 overall, which includes an impressive win over Saint Ignatius Prep. The Falcons drop to 2-3 and will look to rebound on Friday against Livermore.

The High School Lacrosse Insider is written by Adam Warner. Have lacrosse news to share? Send an e-mail to adam@laxpower.com.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website