Florida Southern Tames the Lions

A four-goal third period helped propel Florida Southern to a 12-8 win over Lindenwood (Mo.) Wednesday night at Bryant Stadium. With the win the Mocs improve to 6-5 on the season, while Lindenwood drops to 8-4.

Florida Southern started the scoring as Kevin Naslonski put a shot into the back of the cage. Minutes later A.J. Monteleone scored to give the Moccasins a 2-0 advantage. The Lions cut the lead to 2-1 as Richard Wilson found Jordan McKay for a goal with 12 seconds remaining in the quarter.

Lindenwood evened the score at 2-2, as McKay scored his second goal of the game. The Mocs tlook advantage of a Lion penalty to re-gain the lead, as Chris Murphy found Ike Hopper for the man-up goal. Lindenwood then scored back-to-back goals to take a 4-3 lead with 6:40 left in the half. Florida Southern battled back, scoring three straight goals, including Mat Thompson's shot that beat the buzzer, to give the Mocs a 6-4 lead at the break.

The Moccasins' hot shooting continued as they scored four goals in first four minutes of the third quarter. The defense also stepped up, shutting out the Lions and forcing eight turnovers.

The Lions took advantage of Florida Southern penalties to score back-to-back man up goals and cut the lead to 10-6. Naslonski scored his third goal of the game with 9:23 remaining to extend the Mocs' lead to 11-6. After a Lion goal, Jackson Van Yahres found Kyle Rutkowski for his first goal of the season. Lindenwood's Tyler Davis scored a goal for the 12-8 final score.

Thompson led the Moccasins with four goals, while Naslonski added three goals and an assist. Corey Brown and Hopper each added two points. Chas LaDue went 12-19 on face offs and now holds the program record for most face off wins.

Andrew Almansberger had 10 saves, while Adam Ismaeil led the team with six ground balls.

The Moccasins will be back in action Saturday when they travel to Salisbury, N.C., to take on No. 11 Catawba College in a key Deep South Conference matchup. FSC and Catawba are two of four teams currently tied for first in the DSC. Game time is set for noon.


Create a free lacrosse website