All-Patriot League Team and Awards Announced

Center Valley, Pa. - Four student-athletes from four different teams won major awards, and Lehigh senior midfielder Lauren Dykstra won her fourth major award in women's lacrosse, announced Tuesday by the Patriot League. Voting for the major awards was conducted by the League's head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Dykstra, who has won Rookie, Offensive Player and Defensive Player of the Year awards, added the newly established Midfield Player of the Year award to her collection. Her coach, Jill Redfern, was tabbed as the Coach of the Year for the second straight season after leading the Mountain Hawks to a share of the Patriot League regular-season championship with Colgate. Redfern also won the award in 2000 as the coach of Lafayette.

Colgate junior keeper Christina Roa was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year and Navy sophomore attack Jasmine DePompeo was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Lafayette freshman midfielder Ana White won the Rookie of the Year award.

Dykstra, a former Offensive Player of the Year, led the League in offense in 2011, scoring 68 goals in 16 games. She broke the Patriot League record for goals in a career and continues to add to her record, currently sitting at 253. Dykstra, who has scored in 48 straight games, led the League with 26 goals in six League games. She was fourth in the League in caused turnovers with 20 (1.25 per game). She also had 13 assists to lead the League in points with 81. She is 11 points away from tying the League's all-time record.

Right behind her in points this season is DePompeo, who scored 47 goals and 30 assists. Both marks were tied for second in the League. The Navy sophomore also had 15 draw controls and 10 groundballs. Her breakout sophomore campaign gives her 58 goals and 37 assists for her career.

Roa finished third in the League in saves with 121, going 8-6 in 14 games for the Raiders. She posted a .420 save percentage, which ranked eighth in the Patriot League.

White was one of the League's top midfielders, leading the League in draw controls with 89 (5.56 per game) and caused turnovers with 35 (2.19 per game). She currently leads the nation in draw controls and ranks sixth in caused turnovers. She's also 19th in the nation and second in the League in groundballs with 45 (2.81 per game).

Dykstra was one of five Lehigh players named to the All-Patriot League First Team, which is comprised of 12 players (three attack, four midfielders, three defenders, a goalkeeper and an at-large pick). She is joined by junior attack Kelly Draper, junior defender Leigh Ann Torcivia, goalkeeper Alexandra Fitzpatrick and at-large selection, senior midfielder Allison Thomas.

DePompeo also was named to the first team, along with three other Mids - senior attack Caitlin Mandrin Hill, senior midfielder Katrina Nietsch and junior defender Kierstin King.

Colgate landed two midfielders on the first team with senior Colleen Bubnack and junior Courtney Miller, and Holy Cross junior defender Catherine Furman rounded out the team of 12.

Lafayette led the way with the second team, placing four players on it, including the Rookie of the Year, White. Sophomore attack Addie Godfrey, sophomore defender Caitlin Mitchell and freshman defender Rachel Martin joined White on the second team.

American placed three on the second team - sophomore attack Kimmy Collins, junior midfielder Emily Stankiewicz and senior defender Brit Ferguson - and Holy Cross and Navy each had two on the squad.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website