2011 All-MAAC Team and Awards Announced

New Rochelle, NY Fairfield University's Chloe Mangan was selected as the Women's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Renee L'Heureux earned Defensive Player of the Year honors to headline the 2011 Women's Lacrosse All-MAAC Teams, as voted by the league's head coaches.

Fairfield's Melanie Raso was named the Rookie of the Year, while Stags' head coach Mike Waldvogel earned Anaconda Sports Coach of the Year honors.

Mangan, a 5-10 sophomore from Sayville, N.Y., was third in the MAAC with 2.43 goals per game and fourth with 3.29 points per contest. She was even better in conference games with 2.80 goals and 3.80 points per game. Mangan also had two game-winning goals as she helped lead Fairfield to a 12-4 regular season record and a perfect 6-0 league mark. She was named the MAAC Offensive Player of the Week twice in 2011.

L'Heureux, a 5-7 graduate student from Glastonbury, Conn., averaged 2.83 draw controls per conference game, third best in the league, and caused 1.33 turnovers per league contest. She anchored the Fairfield defense, which allowed just 6.83 goals per game in MAAC play.

Raso, a 5-4 freshman from Farmingdale, N.Y., was one of the best all-around performers in the league in her first collegiate season. She was fifth in the conference with 2.38 goals per game and was third with 2.50 draw controls per contest. Of the Stags' six league games, Raso netted the game-winning goal in three of them. She was selected as the Rookie of the Week on three occasions this season, and also earned accolades as Offensive Player of the Week and Defensive Player of the Week.

Waldvogel helped lead Fairfield to their third consecutive 6-0 regular season MAAC record and an overall mark of 12-4. In his three seasons as head coach for the Stags, Waldvogel has gone 18-0 in MAAC play. His overall record at Fairfield stands at 42-4.

The All-MAAC first team consists of Canisius' Carly Quinn, Megan Oosting, and Allison Daley, Fairfield's Mangan, Raso, and Brittany Bare, Iona's Caitlyn Collins, Elizabeth Coholan, and Amber Zimmerlink, Marist's Jamie Romano and Bailey Knapton, and Siena's Amanda Corso.

The second team features Canisius' Taylor Gray, Lindsey Morgan, Maria Kotas, and Jackie Loson, Fairfield's L'Heureux, Katie Mackay, and Amanda Best, Iona's Kelsey Sickles and Maria Ortiz, Manhattan's Elizabeth Dugan, Marist's Shannon Haas, Niagara's Nicole Karek, and Siena's Caitlin Mikel, Erin Hepper, and Kristin Concordia.


Create a free lacrosse website