All-American Lacrosse Conference Team, Awards

The American Lacrosse Conference honored 24 student-athletes and one head coach as the end of season honors were announced today. Florida's Kitty Cullen, who leads the nation in goals scored per game, was tabbed as the Player of the Year while her mentor, Florida's Amanda O'Leary, was named the Coach of the Year. Northwestern freshman Alyssa Leonard, who leads the conference and ranks in the top-10 nationally in draw controls, was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year, and Dana Cahill from Penn State was named the Goalie of the Year.

Florida, the top seed in the 2011 ALC tournament, led all schools with six selections, including three on the first team, while Northwestern, the reigning champions, led all teams with four first-team honorees. Johns Hopkins, Penn State and Ohio State each were recognized with four student-athletes between the two teams, while Vanderbilt claimed two honorees.

Cullen leads the nation in scoring with 4.25 goals per game (68 goals in 16 games) and helped Florida achieve to a No. 2 national ranking on April 25, the highest ranking in poll history for a second-year team. Cullen's 74 points ranks her third in the conference in points per game; she set the Florida record for goals in a game, scoring seven in a game twice. A Tewaaraton Trophy nominee, Cullen is a two-time National Player of the Week and earned the conference Offensive Player of the Week honor four times in 2011.

Cahill helped the Nittany Lions to the No. 3 seed in the tournament and a top-15 ranking nationally. The junior goalkeeper ranks in the top-20 nationally in save percentage and she ranks second in the conference in ground balls per game. The National Defensive Player of the Week on March 21, Cahill is a two-time conference honoree in 2011.

Leonard leads the conference in draw controls, and she plays a significant part in Northwestern's leading the nation in draw controls per game. Twice the National Rookie of the Week, Leonard is also a two-time conference Rookie of the Week who ranks in the top-10 nationally in draw controls per game.

O'Leary mentored the Gators to the top seed in the 2011 ALC tournament and a No. 2 ranking nationally, marking the highest ranking for a team in their second year of play in poll history. Florida enters the ALC postseason with a top-five RPI and forged a 14-game winning streak that included wins over five ranked teams.

All-Conference Honors
Player of the Year: Kitty Cullen, Florida
Goalie of the Year: Dana Cahill, Penn State
Rookie of the Year: Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Amanda O'Leary, Florida

First Team
Ashley Bruns, Florida
Dana Cahill, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Kitty Cullen, Florida
Maggie Dunbar, Penn State
Sam Farrell, Florida
Alex Frank, Northwestern
Colleen Magarity, Northwestern
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Shannon Smith, Northwestern
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern

Second Team
Gabby Capuzzi, Ohio State
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Jackie Eastman, Penn State
Lindsey Gysin, Ohio State
Janine Hillier, Florida
Haydon Judge, Florida
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Courtney Kirk, Vanderbilt
Mikey Meagher, Florida
Candace Rossi, Johns Hopkins
Jen Steadman, Penn State
Brittney Zerhusen, Ohio State


Create a free lacrosse website