2011 All-ECAC Teams and Awards Announced

CAPE COD, Mass. – Denver head coach Bill Tierney earned ECAC Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive year, while junior Mark Matthews (Oshawa, Ontario) was named the Offensive Player of the Year and freshman goalkeeper Jamie Faus (Lakeville, Conn.) was named the Rookie of the Year, the conference announced today.

“It's a great honor for our team to be recognized by the conference and league coaches through these postseason awards,” said head coach Bill Tierney. “Our team has done a great job of working together as one unit and going out each and every game with a goal to win. I am really proud of all of our guys that wear the Crimson and Gold and I am especially grateful to my coaching staff in Trevor Tierney, Matt Brown and Dylan Sheridan for their tireless efforts in making this program into a top contender.”

In addition to Matthews, sophomores Chase Carraro (Louisville, Ky.) and Cameron Flint (Georgetown, Ontario) and senior Jeff Brown (Cohasset, Mass.) earned All-ECAC First Team honors. Along with Faus, junior Alex Demopoulos (Canton, Conn.) and senior Todd Baxter (Eden Prairie, Minn.) were named to the All-ECAC Second Team.

Matthews finished the regular season ranked first in the ECAC in goals per game (2.92) and in points per game (4.46). The junior attackman ranks second in the conference in assists per game with an average of 1.54 per game. His average of 7.77 shots per game position him third in the conference also. Matthews is tied for second in the ECAC in man-up goals per game (0.54) and tied for third in game-winning goals with two on the regular season.

Faus ended the regular season ranked second in the ECAC in save percentage with a .562 average. The freshman goalkeeper recorded an average of 10.15 saves per game, ranking him fourth in the conference. He also ranks fourth in goals against average (8.28).

Tierney guided the Pioneers to a regular season title with a perfect 6-0 ECAC record. Denver led the league in nearly every offensive category, including goals per game, assists per game, ground balls per game, points per game, shots per game, shot percentage, man-up goals, and shots on goal per game. In addition, the Pioneer defense led the ECAC in caused turnovers per game.

First Team
Attack - Mark Matthews, Jr., Denver !
Attack - Logan Schuss, So., Ohio State !
Attack - Mike Sawyer, So., Loyola $
Midfield - Brent Adams, Jr., Fairfield ! $
Midfield - Chase Carraro, So., Denver
Midfield - Cameron Flint, So., Denver #
Defense - Steve Dircks, Sr., Loyola %
Defense - Matt Kawamoto, Jr., Ohio State
Defense - Jeff Brown, Sr., Denver
Goalie - Charlie Cipriano, Jr., Fairfield
Specialist - Bobby Dattilo, Jr., Hobart

Second Team
Attack - Alex Demopoulos, Jr., Denver !
Attack - Sam Miller, Jr., Hobart
Attack - Todd Baxter, Sr., Denver
Midfield - Vinny Sandtorv, Sr., Air Force #
Midfield - Sam Snow, So., Fairfield #
Midfield - Dominique Alexander, So., Ohio State
Defense - Drew Palmer, Jr., Fairfield
Defense - Dayton Gilbreath, Jr., Air Force !
Defense - Joe Bonanni, Jr., Ohio State
Goalie - Jamie Faus, Fr., Denver
Specialist - John Schiavone, Sr., Loyola ! $

Offensive Player of the Year
Mark Matthews, Jr., Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Matt Kawamoto, Jr., Ohio State

Goalie of the Year
Charlie Cipriano, Jr., Fairfield

Rookie of the Year
Jamie Faus, GK, Fr., Denver

Coach of the Year
Bill Tierney, Denver

! 1st Team All-ECAC in 2010
# 2nd Team All-ECAC in '10
$ 2nd Team All-ECAC in 2009
% 2nd Team All-ECAC in '08

1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website