CAA 2011 All-Conference Teams and Awards

RICHMOND, Va. (May 6, 2011) -- Drexel senior attacker Scott Perri (Smithtown, N.Y.), who leads the league and ranks third in scoring nationally, was selected as the 2011 Colonial Athletic Association Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year in a vote of the league's seven head coaches.

Also earning top men's lacrosse honors from the league were Hofstra senior defender Mike Skudin (Long Beach, N.Y.) as the Defensive Player of the Year and Penn State freshman keeper Austin Kaut (Morton, Pa.) as the Rookie of the Year. Both Massachusetts head coach Greg Cannella and Penn State head coach Jeff Tambroni shared the league's Coach of the Year honor.

Perri, whose only other postseason league honor came as a freshman in 2008 when he was named to the All-Rookie squad, paced the league in scoring this season as a senior. The Smithtown, N.Y., native poured in 39 goals and a league-best 27 assists in 14 games for the Dragons. The senior not only was among the Top 3 nationally in goals scored, but he also ranked second in the country in points scored by averaging just under five a game. Perri, a two-time 2011 CAA Player of the Week, led an offensive attack for Drexel which was among Top 10 nationally in scoring (11.29 goals/game), shooting percentage (.341), assists (6.79 assists/game) and points (18.07 points/game).

Skudin, now a two-time All-CAA honoree, is the first defenseman to earn the league's top defensive honor since 2007 when Drexel's Adam Crystal was given the award. The Long Beach, N.Y., native is part of a Pride defense which not only leads the league, but also the country in allowing just 6.2 goals a game. Skudin, the only senior member of Hofstra's defense, leads the unit with 26 groundballs and forced 16 turnovers on the year.

Kaut, who also was named league's First Team All-Conference goalkeeper, was part of a Penn State squad which finished second in the league standings after winning just one conference game in 2009. The freshman held a 7.90 goals-against average which was just behind Hofstra's Andrew Gvozden's mark in the conference, and ranked 12th in the country. Kaut stopped a league-best 192 shots and boasted a save percentage of .634, tops both in the league and nation. The Morton, Pa., native is the second keeper in two seasons to earn the conference's top rookie honor as Drexel's Mark Manos was given the award in 2009.

Cannella led his squad to its second CAA Championships berth in two seasons after finishing with a 4-2 conference mark. Now a five-time conference Coach of the Year honoree (four in the ECAC), Cannella has his team looking for its eighth NCAA berth during his 17-year tenure. Third-seeded UMass hosts No. 4 seed Delaware in the CAA Championship final Saturday, May 7, at 7:00 p.m. Tambroni, in just his first season at the Penn State helm, led the Nittany Lions to the second seed in the CAA Championships field. Under Tambroni's leadership, Penn State went from a 2-11 overall mark and a 1-4 conference record in 2009 to a 7-6 regular season record and a 4-2 league mark in 2010.

Hofstra placed a league-best five players on the All-CAA First Team. Skudin was joined by senior attacker Jay Card, sophomore midfielder Ian Braddish, senior long-stick midfielder Adam Mojica and sophomore faceoff specialist John Antoniades. Delaware, Drexel and Penn State each placed two on the league's First Team. The Blue Hens' senior midfielder Kevin Kaminski and senior defender Pat Dowling were joined by Perri and junior defender Frank Tufano from Drexel, as well as junior attacker Matt Mackrides and Kaut from Penn State. UMass' junior midfielder Anthony Biscardi rounded out the 12-man All-CAA Men's Lacrosse First Team.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website