Finalists Named for 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy

WASHINGTON Senior LSM Joel White (Cortland, N.Y.) and senior goalie John Galloway (Syracuse, N.Y.) have been selected as two of the five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award, which is presented to the nation's top lacrosse player.

The finalists for this year's award were announced on Friday, May 13 by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. Joining White and Galloway as finalists for college lacrosse's top prize are attackmen Steele Stanwick (Virginia), Rob Pannell (Cornell) and Jeremy Boltus (Army).

This is the second consecutive season White has been selected as a Tewaaraton finalist. A unanimous 2011 All-Big East First Team choice, White leads the Orange in ground balls (69) and ranks second on the team with 23 caused turnovers. Offensively, he's contributed four goals and two assists.

White's career numbers are the best among the best in program history. He currently ranks third all-time at Syracuse in ground balls (273) and is the school's career leader in points (28) and goals (18) by a defensive player.

Galloway is just the second goalie ever to be named a Tewaaraton finalist, joining Princeton's Trevor Tierney (2001). Like White, Galloway was a unanimous 2011 All-Big East First Team honoree. In addition, he was named the league's best goalkeeper for the second straight year. Galloway ranks fifth nationally in goals-against average (6.95) this season. He has 129 saves and owns a .563 save percentage.

Galloway will go down as one of the most successful goaltenders in college lacrosse history. He is the NCAA's career leader in wins (59) and currently ranks second in NCAA history in minutes played (3,653). Galloway's 7.41 career goals-against average is eighth all-time.

Together, White and Galloway anchor a Syracuse defensive unit that ranks fifth nationally in scoring defense (7.2 goals allowed per game).

Since 2001, the Tewaaraton Award has been given to the top men's and women's lacrosse player in the nation, as voted upon by a selection committee made up of current and retired coaches. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on Thursday, June 2 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

* * * *

WASHINGTON, D.C. One of the most prolific players in Army lacrosse history, senior attackman Jeremy Boltus was named one of five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy on Friday afternoon.

Boltus represents Army's first-ever finalist and is joined by Syracuse senior goalkeeper John Galloway, Cornell junior attackman Rob Pannell, Virginia junior attackman Steele Stanwick, and Syracuse long stick midfielder Joel White.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is awarded annually to the top men's and women's lacrosse players in the nation. The five finalists will be honored and the 11th annual award presented during a formal dinner and ceremony on Thursday, June 2, at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

It was fitting for Boltus to tally a career-high six assists in his final game in an Army uniform on May 6 at Michie Stadium, as he will be documented as one of the best feeders in Black Knight history. Boltus finished his career ranked second on Army's all-time points (214) and assists (124) lists. He is one of four players to reach 200 points and three players to reach 100 assists in Army's storied 94-year history. His 124 career assists rank second only to Pannell among the nation's active leaders. Boltus won four of five games against rival Navy and totaled 11 career hat tricks.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website