Finalists Named for 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy

* * * *

DURHAM, N.C. Duke redshirt junior Emma Hamm has been named one of five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy, an honor awarded annually to the nation's top men and women's lacrosse player.

Hamm, who joins Grace Gavin (Loyola), Sarah Mollison (Maryland), Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) and Shannon Smith (Northwestnern), is the fifth Tewaaraton finalist in Duke women's lacrosse history. Kate Kaiser (2001), Katie Chrest (2005 & 2006), Caroline Cryer (2007) and Carolyn Davis (2009) also earned the distinction with Chrest winning the award in 2005.

Injury forced Hamm to miss the 2010 campaign, but the Wayne, Pa., native returned in 2011 to set careers highs in goals (46), assists (24), points (70) and draw controls (65), helping the Blue Devils to a 14-4 record overall record and their 14th consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament.

Duke's leader in goals and draw controls, Hamm captured All-ACC honors for the second time in her career while ranking in the top-10 in the conference in goals, assists, caused turnovers and draw controls. An IWLCA All-America selection in 2009, Hamm has registered three or more goals in 10 contests this season and has eight games with at least five points.

A three-year starter with the Blue Devils, Hamm holds the Duke record with 171 career draw controls and is the only Blue Devil to win 50 or more draws in three consecutive seasons. In addition, she ranks seventh in the Duke record books with 24 career assists.

After defeating ninth-ranked Penn on Sunday in the opening round of the 2011 NCAA Tournament, the Blue Devils next travel to Gainesville, Fla., to take on fourth-ranked Florida in the quarterfinals. The game is set for Saturday, May 21 at 3:00 p.m.

* * * *

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Northwestern women's lacrosse junior Shannon Smith has been chosen as one of five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award as announced by the Greater Washington Sporting Alliance. Smith becomes the fifth different Northwestern player to be named a finalist for the prestigious award, handed out annually to the nation's top performer in men's and women's college lacrosse.

Smith is in the midst of one of the most prolific seasons in Northwestern history, having scored 73 goals and racked up 40 assists through 20 games, totals which rank fifth and sixth, respectively, on NU's all-time single-season ledgers. Her Division I-leading 113 points, meanwhile, are fourth-most in a single year by a Wildcat and trail only Hannah Nielsen's totals from 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Smith, who has scored at least once in 42 consecutive games, has stepped up big in Northwestern's first three postseason games, scoring exactly five goals in all three outings. She brought home the ALC Championship MVP trophy after helping NU rally from a late three-goal deficit against top-seeded Florida in the final game.

For her career, the junior sits sixth all-time at NU with 78 assists, seventh with 252 points and eighth with 175 goals. She has started every game of her Wildcat career.

Northwestern has brought the Tewaaraton Award back to Evanston on four occasions, with Kristen Kjellman receiving the honor in 2006 and 2007 before Hannah Nielsen was recognized the next two seasons.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website