California, Delaware Crown State Champions

A slew of new boys' lacrosse champions were crowned this weekend as a number of states wrapped up tournament play. In Delaware action, a familiar face found its championship form in the nick of time, while in California, a pair of rivals faced-off for the third time this season in pursuit of the trophy. Elsewhere, Indiana witnessed a newcomer join the state title club, and in Idaho, one team's unprecedented postseason run culminated with a well-deserved championship.

Delaware Finals: Salesianum Downs Tower Hill to Complete Championship Run

In the First State, the Salesianum boys' lacrosse team used a five-goal third quarter to fuel an impressive comeback and secure the 2011 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association title with a 7-5 win over Tower Hill. The championship was Salesianum's first since '09 and fourth overall. Last season, Tower Hill upended the Sals in the pinnacle contest, 4-3, in double-overtime.

Highlighted by Will Mette's streaking goal with one second remaining in the first half, Tower Hill claimed a 3-1 lead at intermission. However, Salesianum found its game in the third quarter and outscored the Hillers 5-1 to take a 6-4 edge into the final stanza. Tower Hill cut its deficit to one early in the fourth, but Sallies added another score and held on for the two-goal victory.

Attackmen Andrew Blundin, Will Freeborn, and Dillon Walker combined to net six goals for Sallies (16-1). Junior Michael Pettit led Tower Hill (13-5) with a hat trick.

California North Coast Section Championships: Monte Vista, Marin Catholic Earn Titles

Sparked by a seven-goal first half, Monte Vista (Danville) thwarted a late comeback to defeat De LaSalle, 10-7, for the California (CIF) Boys' North Coast Section Division I championship on Friday. The title was Monte Vista's fourth overall section championship and proved to be payback after falling to De LaSalle in the '09 finals.

Jared Welker and Jack Michel each scored three goals for the Mustangs, while Scott Francis and Jarret Hassfeld combined for four more to pace the scoring. The Mustangs (18-6) held a commanding 10-2 lead at the start of the fourth quarter before De LaSalle staged an impressive comeback attempt. The Spartans scored five unanswered goals in the final stanza to cut things close late, but ultimately couldn't close the gap.

After starting the season 7-6 overall, Monte Vista finished the campaign on an 11-game winning streak to fuel its championship. The Mustangs also took the season series with De LaSalle (20-4) two games to one.

In Division II action, Marin Catholic won its first title thanks to an 8-7 win over Acalanes. Chris Hill led the way for Marin with three goals. Acalanes crawled back from a five-goal deficit to ice the game at 7-7 before Patrick Rooney scored the game-winner for Marin with just under five minutes remaining in regulation. Trevor Felt and Robbie Stern each posted three scores for Acalanes.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website