Denver Lacrosse Announces 2012 Schedule

DENVER- University of Denver will play eight games at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium as part of DU's 2012 schedule, head coach Liza Kelly announced today.

"We have one of the best lacrosse facilities in the country, and we are excited to play so many games at home this season," Kelly said. "We always enjoy our road trips, but I felt like we spent the greater part of the 2011 season travelling. The 2012 schedule gives us a challenging schedule, but a better balance between home and away games."

After Denver opens the season with road trips to Johns Hopkins (Feb. 24) and Louisville (March 2), the Pioneers will host Mountain Pacific Sports Federation foe St. Mary's (March 9) in the home opener.

DU remains at home for the following two games, facing Marist (March 13) and defending Northeast Conference regular season champion Quinnipiac (March 15).

Following a pair of games in Berkeley, Calif., against California (March 21) and Hofstra (March 23), Denver begins a five-game home stand: George Washington (March 25), Delaware (March 28), Drexel (March 30), Stanford (April 7) and San Diego State (April 9).

Denver's season concludes with a trio of MPSF road games at Fresno State (April 13), UC Davis (April 15) and Oregon (April 21). Defending conference champions Stanford will host the MPSF Tournament in Palo Alto, Calif., on April 27-29.

The Pioneers return 17 players, including nine starters, from the 2011 squad that finished second in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation regular season. All-MPSF selections Kara Secora (Denver, Colo.), Kate Henrich (Lansdale, Pa.), Alex Befus (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Ashley Harman (Boyertown, Pa.), Jenn Etzel (Bel Air, Md.) and Lauren Ciccomascolo (Ladera Ranch, Calif.) return to this year's lineup.

Date        Day         Opponent            Location             Time
Feb.11 Saturday Penn Play Day Philadelphia, Pa. All Day
Feb. 24 Friday Johns Hopkins Baltimore, Md. 2:00 p.m.

March 2 Friday Louisville Louisville, Ky. 12:00 p.m.
March 9 Friday St. Mary's* Barton Stadium 4:00 p.m.
March 13 Tuesday Marist Barton Stadium 7:00 p.m.
March 15 Thursday Quinnipiac Barton Stadium 6:00 p.m.
March 21 Wednesday California* Berkeley, Calif. 5:00 p.m.
March 23 Friday Hofstra Berkeley, Calif. 1:30 p.m.
March 25 Sunday George Washington Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
March 28 Wednesday Delaware Barton Stadium 7:00 p.m.
March 30 Friday Drexel Barton Stadium 3:00 p.m.

April 7 Saturday Stanford* Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
April 9 Monday San Diego State Barton Stadium 2:00 p.m.
April 13 Friday Fresno State* Fresno, Calif. 4:00 p.m.
April 15 Sunday UC Davis* Davis, Calif. 1:00 p.m.
April 21 Saturday Oregon* Eugene, Ore. 2:00 p.m.

April 27-29 Fri.-Sun. MPSF Championship Palo Alto, Calif.

All times MT and subject to change
* Mountain Pacific Sports Federation game

2011-10-18



Create a free lacrosse website