La Roche Announces Captains and New Players

Pittsburgh, PA La Roche College head coach Anthony Stamatopoulos announced the Redhawks' team captains for the 2012 season and the incoming class of 2015.


The newly appointed captains are Jamal Blackwell (Owings Mills, Md.), Jean-Guillaume Thouin (Laval, Quebec), Bryce Wells (Cochrane, Alberta), Nathaniel Marsh (Latrobe, Pa.), and Shawn Teixeira (Calgary, Alberta). The team's leading five played in every game in 2011 and contributed greatly to last year's successes.

"We are extremely proud to have these five student-athletes lead our program as captains through the 2012 season. Our sophomore class has a lot to be proud of both on and off the field. These five men have been exemplary components, from the way they conduct themselves to the vision for this year's program. It was very clear and easy for the team and coaching staff to select them as team captains".

"Following our inaugural season, these five in particular were not satisfied they wanted more going into 2012. Being a captain at La Roche carries a lot of responsibility and this can be a concern when you have a young group. There's a lot more to the job than just leading by example and showing up to meetings on time, working hard at practices and going out for the coin-toss during games. These five bring something special to the table every day and I am confident that this is the best group to build on the traditions we are creating for La Roche men's lacrosse".

Class of 2015

La Roche College has added sixteen players to the class of 2015. The group includes two attackmen, nine midfielders, four defensemen and a goalie, hailing from four states and Canada.

"We are very excited to welcome our newest members to the La Roche College men's lacrosse family. There is nothing more important for a start-up program then its' first two classes, and we are confident that we plugged the necessary holes. They are not only talented on the field, but it's a class of high character and integrity. This class sets the bar for other classes moving forward".

The class of 2015 shares the same passion and vision that our staff and school have for the lacrosse program here at La Roche College. We are certain that this group will help cement the foundation of our program and ensure that we are successful for many years moving forward. We look forward to watching them develop both on and off the field."

La Roche's incoming attackmen are Micheal Kenski (Mt Airy, Md/ Liganore) and Jonathan Monahan (Pittsburgh, Pa/ Shaler)
The Redhawks have added nine midfielders with this group. The nine incoming midfielders are Bobby Lewis (Fredrick, Md/ Catonsville C.C.), Shane Ficorilli (Pittsburgh, Pa/ Central Catholic), Garrett Fraser (Cochrane, Alberta/ Edge School), Liam Bedortha (Pittsburgh, Pa/ Central Catholic) Cameron Inniss (Ann Arbor, Mi/ Ann Arbor Pioneer), Blaine Shaffner (Lilitz, Pa/ Warwick), Mike DiMarco (Rochester Hills, Mi/ Rochester Adams), Jacob Swanson (Norwin, Pa/ Norwin), Trevor Donley (Palmyra, Pa/ Palmyra Area).

Four defensemen have been added to the roster for the 2012 campaign. The four are: Brad Nylen (Rochester Hills, Mi/ Rochester Adams), Alex Barton (Hilliard, Oh/ Hilliard Davidson), Michael Merchant (White Lake, Mi/ Walled Lake Norther), and Gregory Velekei (Eason, Pa/ Easton).

One goalie in the class of 2015 will be joining the Redhawks: Isaiah Wilson (Windsor, Md/ Milford Mill Academy).


Create a free lacrosse website