Ohio State Flies by Air Force at Showdown in the Shoe

For the game, Ohio State outshot Air Force, 40-28. Dutton played 57:44 for the Buckeyes and had four saves, allowing four goals. Spencer stopped the one shot he faced. Fox took the loss for the Falcons, playing 51:18 and allowing 11 goals while making 10 saves. Matt Sanders played the last 8:42 and allowed three goals.

The Buckeyes won 11 of 21 faceoffs on the day, with Knezick 11-8. Ohio State had the edge in groundballs, 34-22, led by Knezick with seven and Dutton with four. Ohio State had nine caused turnovers, with freshman Luke Howard recording three and seniors Keenan Ochwat and Joe Bonanni each causing two. Ochwat and Howard each had three groundballs.

* * * *

COLUMBUS, Ohio Shut out for nearly three periods, the Air Force lacrosse team dropped a 14-4 decision to Ohio State Saturday in the "Showdown in the Shoe," held at Ohio Stadium.

The Falcons (6-6, 1-4 ECAC) trailed 10-0 before getting on the board with 2:57 remaining in the third period, as Erik Smith (So., Golden, Colo.) registered Air Force's first score of the day.

Ohio State (7-6, 4-1 ECAC) tallied three goals in the opening period and added five more in the second quarter to go into the locker room with an 8-0 advantage. The Buckeyes' advantage grew to 10 goals before Smith notched the final score of the third period.

Air Force came back to register three of the first four goals of the final stanza, with two from sophomore Mike Crampton (Kinnelon, N.J.) and another by Tommy McKee (So., Holt, Mich.) but Ohio State closed out the game with three unanswered scores to secure the 10-goal victory.

The Buckeyes outshot the Falcons 40-28 for the game, including 32-15 through the first three periods, and had 24 shots on goal, compared to just nine for Air Force. Meanwhile, Ohio State also won the battle for loose balls, picking up 34 ground balls, while the Falcons were credited with 22 ground balls.

Air Force closes out the season next Saturday, April 28, when they visit ECAC foe Hobart in a 7:00 p.m. (ET) contest.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website