ACC Announces 2012 Individual Lacrosse Award Recipients

The ACC has had three previous repeat winners of the ACC Player of the Year award and Stanwick is the first since Duke's Matt Danowski, who won in 2005, 2007 & 2008. The other back-to-back winners are NC State's Stan Cockerton, the father of current Cavaliers Matt and Mark, who won the very first two ACC Player of the Year awards in 1977 & 1978. Ryan Wade of North Carolina (1993 & 1994) is the other back-to-back winner, while Maryland's Joe Walters (2004 & 2006) is the only other multiple winner of the player of the year honor.

With Stanwick's two player of the year wins, UVa is tied with North Carolina for the most in league history with 10. Before Stanwick's 2011 honor, the last UVa player to be named ACC Player of the Year was Chris Rotelli in2003.

Duke's CJ Costabile and Maryland's Jesse Bernhardt were named ACC Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Duke's John Danowski garnered ACC Coach of the Year accolades, and Maryland's Goran Murray was named ACC Freshman of the Year.

Virginia concludes the regular season schedule on Friday in the Whitman's Sampler Mile High Classic against Penn, to be contested inside Sports Authority Field at Mile High, in Denver, Colo. The game will be streamed live on ESPN3 and face off is set for 7:30 p.m. EST.

* * * *
DURHAM, N.C.-Duke head coach John Danowski and senior longstick midfielder CJ Costabile led the way for the Blue Devils as recipients of the 2012 ACC Men's Lacrosse annual awards, announced by the league office today. Danowski was named the ACC Coach of the Year, while Costabile was voted as the ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year in a vote of the league's head coaches.

Costabile shares the honor with Maryland defenseman Jesse Bernhardt. This marks the first year awards were given separately to offensive and defensive players.

Danowski captures his third career ACC Coach of the Year award and second consecutive after leading the Blue Devils to the 2012 ACC regular season and ACC Tournament titles. The Blue Devils are 13-3 overall and have four wins over top 10 opponents this season. This marks just the fourth time in ACC history that one coach has captured the honor in consecutive seasons and the first time since Virginia's Dom Starsia did so in 2002 and 2003.

In six seasons with the Blue Devils, Danowski has compiled an impressive 93-22 record and 27-6 against ACC opponents. He has helped guide Duke to four of the six ACC regular season and tournament crowns in those six seasons. With a career record of 312-161, Danowski currently ranks third among active Division I coaches in career wins and ninth in career win percentage (.660).

He became the sixth coach in Division I lacrosse history to reach 300 career victories with a 16-8 win over Rutgers to begin the 2012 campaign. In his six seasons with the Blue Devils, Danowski has mentored 19 All-ACC selections, four ACC major award winners, 32 All-America choices, and two Tewaaraton Trophy winners.

Costabile, a two-time All-America selection, anchored Duke's faceoff game and defense this season. The native of New Fairfield, Conn., leads the ACC and ranks ninth nationally in ground balls with 6.5 per game. He is 113 of 216 (.523) at the faceoff X in 2012 and ranks second on the team in caused turnovers with 17.

In 2012, he was named to the All-ACC team for the second consecutive season and became the fourth Blue Devil in program history to be named to the All-ACC Tournament Team three times in his career. Costabile was the first freshman in ACC history to earn the ACC Tournament Most Valuable Player award after helping guide Duke to the 2009 ACC title.

«  Previous    1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website