Metro Atlantic All-Conference Teams and Awards for 2012

Buffalo, N.Y. - Canisius College's Carly Quinn was selected as the MAAC Women's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Megan Oosting earned the inaugural Midfielder of the Year award to headline the 2012 Women's Lacrosse All-MAAC Teams, as voted by the league's head coaches.

Three student-athletes shared the MAAC's Defensive Player of the Year award Morgan Leonard of Canisius, Stephanie Sumcizik of Iona College, and Amanda Corso of Siena College. Fairfield University's Courtney Chmil was named the Rookie of the Year, while Stags' head coach Mike Waldvogel earned his third Anaconda Sports Coach of the Year honor.

Quinn, a 5-7 senior from Orangeville, Ontario, led the MAAC in assists with 40 and points with 68. She also led the league with 21 assists and 5.33 points per game in MAAC contests. Quinn ranks third on her team with 28 goals. She was named the MAAC Offensive Player of the Week three times in 2012.

Oosting, a 5-7 senior from Lakefield, Ontario, led the MAAC in four statistical categories. She led the league in goals (49), goals per game (3.27), draw controls (58), and draw controls per game (3.87). Oosting ranks in the top five in the MAAC in five different categories. She was named Offensive Player of the Week twice this season. Leonard, a 5-6 junior from Skyesville, Md., ranks fourth in the MAAC with 2.56 ground balls per contest and was named Defensive Player the Week twice this year. Sumcizik, a 5-4 graduate student of Syosset, N.Y., ranked second on her team with 20 caused turnovers and third with 24 ground balls. Corso, a 5-3 senior from Camillus, N.Y., ranks third in the MAAC with 39 ground balls and a 2.60 ground balls per game average.

Chmil, a 5-8 freshman from Garden City, N.Y. ranks fifth in the MAAC with a 1.27 caused turnovers per game average and led her team with 36 ground balls this season. She was tied for first in the MAAC with two game winning goals in league games and helped lead the Stags to a perfect 6-0 conference record. Chmil scored 23 points this season and had 24 points. She was named Rookie of the Week five times in the 2012 season.

Waldvogel helped lead Fairfield to its fifth consecutive undefeated MAAC regular season with a 6-0 record and an overall mark of 12-3. In his four seasons as head coach for the Stags, Waldvogel has gone 24-0 in conference play. His overall record at Fairfield stands at 54-7. This is Waldvogel's second consecutive Coach of the Year honor and third overall ('09).

First Team
Carly Quinn Canisius College
Deirdre McQuillan Siena College
Kylie Gregory Iona College
Megan Oosting Canisius College
Casey Scully Iona College
Melanie Raso Fairfield University
Lindsey Morgan Canisius College
Courtney Chmil Fairfield University
Katie Maguire Siena College
Morgan Leonard Canisius College
Amanda Corso Siena College
Amber Zimmerlink Iona College
Stephanie Sumcizk Iona College
Katie Keenan Fairfield University

Second Team
Chloe Mangan Fairfield University
Ariel Kramer Marist College
Chrissy Gutenberger Manhattan College
Ashley Miller Marist College
Jamie Leone Fairfield University
Brittany Mabus Iona College
Jamie Romano Marist College
Shannon Haas Marist College
Maria Kotas Canisius College
Michelle Andreo Siena College
Emily Leonard Marist College
Shannon Pfohl Siena College
Elizabeth Dugan Manhattan College
Amanda Tuck Marist College
Tori Quinn Canisius College
Cassie Penta Fairfield University
Christine Astaria Marist College
Tara Lynch Fairfield University
Gabby Kotas Canisius College
Breana Leonard Manhattan College
Erinn Hogan Fairfield University
Ashley Casiano Marist College

All-Rookie Team
Jamie Leone Fairfield University
Donna Jo DiNorcia Manhattan College
Emily Leonard Marist College
Courtney Chmil Fairfield University
Meghan Testoni Iona College
Carrie-Jo Farrugia Niagara University
Tori Quinn Canisius College
Meghan Cuddy Canisius College
Christina Fiorinelli Manhattan College
Domenica O'Brey Manhattan College
Alyssa Trenor Siena College
Christine Astarita Marist College
Sheri Fauvell Marist College
Kayla Scully Canisius College

Offensive Player of the Year: Carly Quinn, Canisius College

Defensive Players of the Year:
Morgan Leonard, Canisius College
Stephanie Sumcizk, Iona College
Amanda Corso, Siena College

Midfielder of the Year: Megan Oosting, Canisius College
Rookie of the Year: Courtney Chmil, Fairfield University
Coach of the Year: Mike Waldvogel, Fairfield University


Create a free lacrosse website