Cal's Takacs Heads the 2012 All-MPSF Teams and Awards

STANFORD, Calif. – The night before the start of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Tournament, Megan Takacs claimed California's first Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Player of the Year award and was one of four Golden Bears to earn spots on the All-MPSF teams, the conference announced at its annual tournament banquet on Thursday.

Takacs, whose season ended prematurely due to injury, joined senior midfielder Emily Abbood and senior defender Tori Harrison on the All-MPSF first team, while junior attacker Melissa Humphrey garnered All-MPSF second-team status.

Takacs, who earned her second straight All-MPSF first-team honor, had a breakout year – she currently leads the nation in goals per game at 4.08 and holds the school single-season record in goals at 53 despite missing Cal's last two games. She suffered a knee injury after scoring four goals to set the school record in a 15-12 win at Vermont on April 12.

The Woodside, Calif., product still leads Cal in goals, points (60), game-winning goals (4), draw controls (63) and free-position goals (11). Nationally, Takacs ranks seventh in total goals, 10th in draw controls per game (4.85), 12th in points per game (4.62) and 33rd in total points. Those 60 points rank her fifth on Cal's all-time single-season points list.

Harrison likewise earned her second consecutive All-MPSF first-team honor. Cal's primary mark-up defender, Harrison anchors a defense that has allowed the lowest number of opponent goals – 160 – since the 2001 squad allowed 150. The Austin, Texas, native shares the team lead in caused turnovers with 15 and is one of four senior co-captains, along with Abbood.

A fifth-year senior, Abbood is tied for the team high in ground balls (24), leads the way in caused turnovers (17) and ranks second in draw controls (41). She has scored career highs in goals (12) and points (15) and also has three assists. This is the first All-MPSF accolade for the Jamestown, R.I., product.

Humphrey has also had a breakout year on the attacking end. She leads the team in assists (35), ranks second in points (56) and is fourth in goals (career-high tying 21). She also has corralled 15 ground balls and scored seven free-position goals. Her assist total ranks her second on Cal's all-time single-season assist list; the record is 41. Nationally, she is 13th in total assists, 14th in assists per game (2.33), 47th in points per game (3.73) and 48th in total points. The Coronado, Calif., native ranks seventh on the school's all-time single-season points list.

Cal (8-7) is the fourth seed in the four-team MPSF Tournament and will play top-seeded Oregon (12-4) on Friday, April 27, at 4:30 p.m. at Stanford's Cagan Stadium.

* * * *

First Team
Megan Takacs Jr A California Woodside, CA/Chagrin Falls
Elizabeth Datino Jr A UC Davis Centennial, CO/Littleton
Emilie Boeri Sr A Stanford Phoenix, MD/Notre Dame Prep
Jana Drummond Sr M Oregon Nashua, NH/E. Grand Rapids
Elizabeth Landry Fr M UC Davis Lafayette, CA/Acalanes
Catherine Swanson Sr M Stanford Potomac, MD/Holton-Arms School
Melissa Maier Sr M Denver Farmingdale, NY/Farmingdale
Amanda Cross Jr M St. Mary's Danville, CA/Fresno State
Kate Henrich Jr D Denver Lansdale, PA/Germantown Academy
Tori Harrison Sr D California Austin, TX/St. Andrews Episcopal
Colleen Taggart Sr D Oregon Bay Shore, NY/Bay Shore
Caroline Federighi So G Oregon Pleasanton, CA/Amador Valley
Kara Secora Jr A Denver Denver, CO/Kent Denver
Kristina Barrett Sr A Oregon Severna Park, MD/Severna School
Hannah Farr Fr M Stanford Hillsboro, MD/St. Ignatius
Emily Abbood RS-Sr M California Jamestown, RI/Moses Brown

Second Team
Meris Walsh So A San Diego State Easton, MD/U. of Maryland
Jenn Etzel So A Denver Bel Air, MD/John Carroll
Melissa Humphrey Jr A California Coronado, CA/Coronado
Hannah Mirza Jr M UC Davis Westchester, NY/Miss Porter's
Nikki Puszcz So M Oregon Towson, MD/Maryvale Prep
Anna Kim So M Stanford Clarksville, MD/River Hill
Jess Drummond Sr M Oregon Nashua, NH/E. Grand Rapids
Rachel Minarovich So M St. Mary's San Diego, CA/Fresno State
Nina Swanson So D Stanford Potomac, MD/Georgetown Visitation
Holly Hayes So D St. Mary's San Diego, CA/Westview
Lara Bennett Sr D Oregon Greenwich, CT/Greenwich
Lyndsey Munoz So G Stanford Crofton, MD/St. Mary's
Jessica Gring Jr D Denver Baltimore, MD/Notre Dame Prep
Callie Murphy So D Denver Towson, MD/Garrison Forrest
Madison Wallace Fr D San Diego St Chantilly, VA/Chantilly
Shannon Propst So A Oregon Bel Air, MD/Fallston

Player of the Year: Megan Takacs • Junior •Attacker • California
Coach of the Year: Jen Larsen-Beck • 8th Year • Head Coach • Oregon

Newcomers of the Year:
Jill Remenapp • Freshman • Attacker • Denver
Elizabeth Landry • Freshman • Midfield • UC Davis

1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website