2012 America East All-Conference Teams and Player Awards

Collins is one of two rookies on the all-conference second team along with UMBC goalkeeper Anna Barnett (Midland, Texas/Midland). Albany juniors Jess Antelmi (Bridgeport, N.Y./Chittenango) and Rachael Burek (Rensselaer, N.Y./Columbia) and Vermont senior Samantha Stern (Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill East) make up the second-team attacking unit along with Collins. The midfielders, all seniors, are Boston U.'s Molly Swain (Cambridge, Mass./Beaver Country Day School), UMBC's Alicia Krause (Ellicott City, Md./Mount Hebron/Duquesne), New Hampshire's Ilana Cohen (Andover, Mass./Andover) and Vermont's Adison Rounds (Centennial, Colo./Arapahoe). Rounding out the second team are defenders Steph Kempf (Wantagh, N.Y./Holy Trinity) from Albany, junior Monica Baumgartner (Silver Spring, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel) of Boston U., and sophomore Jessica Romano (Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa) of Stony Brook.

The all-rookie team includes 10 players regardless of position. Collins, Barnett and Rubino were all selected, including Collins and Rubino unanimously. Also earning all six possible votes were Albany's Nichole Eamer (Watertown, N.Y./General Brown), Lexi Brannigan (Loudonville, N.Y./Colonie Central), UMBC's Abby Wilson (Bel Air, Md./Fallston), New Hampshire's Laura Puccia (Fairport, N.Y./Fairport) and Stony Brook's Amber Kupres (Ronkonkoma, N.Y./Connetquot). Binghamton University's Renee Kiviat (Jericho, N.Y./Jericho) and Stony Brook's Marina Mestres (Medford, N.J./Shawnee) complete the team.

Twenty-five of the 33 award winners will be in action at the 2012 America East Women's Lacrosse Championship beginning with the semifinals on Thursday, May 3 at Nickerson Field in Boston and concluding with the final on Saturday, May 5 at noon. The championship game on Saturday will air live on ESPN3.

First Team
Claire Petersen - JR - Attack - Stony Brook - Wantagh, N.Y./Wantagh/Adelphi
Danielle Etrasco - JR - Attack Boston University - Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa
Janine Hillier - JR - Attack - Stony Brook - Farmingdale, N.Y./Farmingdale/Florida
Sydney Mas - SO - Attack - Vermont - Bedford, N.Y./St. George's School (RI)

Ariana Parker - SO - Midfield - Albany - Port Ewen, N.Y./Kingston
Kate Keagins - SR - Midfield - New Hampshire - Bay Shore, N.Y./Bay Shore
Demmianne Cook - JR - Midfield - Stony Brook - Nesconset, N.Y./Smithtown East/Adelphi
Michelle Rubino - FR - Midfield - Stony Brook - East Setauket, N.Y./Comsewogue

Jenn Primeau - SR - Defense - Albany - Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna
Brittany Carlin - JR - Defense - - Boston University - Summit, N.J./Chatham
Jamie Fahey - JR - Defense - UMBC - Baldwin, Md./Loch Raven)
Melissa Rotante - JR - Defense - Stony Brook -Norwalk, Conn./Brien McMahon
Caitie Izzo - SR - Defense - Vermont - Longmeadow, Mass./Longmeadow

Frankie Caridi - SO - Goalie - Stony Brook - East Northport, N.Y./Commack

Second Team
Mallory Collins - FR - Attack - Boston U. - Boston, Mass./Thayer Academy/Loomis Chaffee
Jess Antelmi - JR - Attack - Albany - Bridgeport, N.Y./Chittenango
Rachael Burek - JR - Attack - Albany - Rensselaer, N.Y./Columbia
Samantha Stern - SR - Attack - Vermont - Cherry Hill, N.J./Cherry Hill East

Molly Swain - SR - Midfield - Boston University - Cambridge, Mass./Beaver Country Day
Alicia Krause - SR - Midfield - UMBC - Ellicott City, Md./Mount Hebron/Duquesne
Ilana Cohen - SR - Midfield - New Hampshire - Andover, Mass./Andover
Adison Rounds - SR - Midfield - Vermont - Centennial, Colo./Arapahoe

Steph Kempf - Defense - Albany - Wantagh, N.Y./Holy Trinity
Monica Baumgartner - JR - Defense - Boston University - Silver Spring, Md./Good Counsel
Jessica Romano - SO - Defense - Stony Brook - Massapequa, N.Y./Massapequa

Anna Barnett - FR - Goalie - UMBC - Midland, Texas/Midland

«  Previous    1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website