Minnesota-Duluth Claims Their 15th UMLC Championship

(May 2, 2012 Duluth, MN) Make another notch in the belt for the men's University of Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs lacrosse team as they claim the 2012 UMLC Championship title one more time. This marks the 15th UMLC championship the Bulldogs have claimed since 1995 and the 7th consecutive championship title since 2006.

On Sunday, April 29, the Bulldogs faced off with Mankato State University at the Concordia University's Sea Foam Dome in St. Paul, Minnesota for the UMLC Division 1 semifinal round of the play-off tournaments. The game started at 10:45 am after the deciding game of MSU versus Iowa State University the evening before.

The Bulldogs started off incredibly strong in the first quarter against MSU, leading 4-0 by the time the clock read 5:37 with a goal made by UMD's Alex McNamara (#10, Apple Valley, MN). Kevin Gaydos (#6, Lino Lakes, MN) added to UMD's score around 2:38 on the clock. McNamara couldn't hold himself to only one goal, so he attacked the net again at the end of the first quarter, leaving the score 6-0 in favor of the Bulldogs.

Head Coach Frank Clark commented "We had been focusing on dictating the tempo and the guys came out today and did just that"

Drake Peterson (#15, Terrence, OH) came out swinging at the beginning of the second quarter, for his first goal of the game. The Bulldogs continued to be on an unstoppable hot streak and really working as a team. Through this team work, UMD's midfielder Matt Murphy (#21, Eden Prairie, MN), midfielder Stan Drutowski (#28, Rosemount, MN) and McNamara (#10) all put their efforts into the net, putting the score at 10-0 before the second half was even half over.

UMD hit a snag in their sweeping game, receiving a penalty and playing one man down. The defense held strong. Directly following the penalty attackman Tyler Lorinser (#16, Chaska, MN) made his shot count, putting the Bulldogs up 11-0. McNamara (#10) and Lorinser (#16) continued to have a hot shooting streak with both making another goal, along with Drutowski (#28). By the end of the first half, the Bulldogs led unchallenged with a score of 15-0.

The third quarter continued to smile upon the Bulldogs. Gaydos (#6) got the ball rolling at the start of the third quarter, quickly followed by attack Neal Pester (#33, Savage, MN). Mankato suffered a penalty a little later in the third; giving the Bulldogs a man-up opportunity for 30 seconds and Pester (#33) decided to take advantage with another goal for the Bulldogs.

The Bulldogs would end up having thirteen different players in the point's column. MSU would break through in the fourth quarter and score a couple of goals against the Dogs, but in the end, it was the Bulldogs who reigned supreme. The final score for MSU versus UMD was 26 2.

With the first win under their belts, UMD now headed into the championship game against none other than their infamous rivals of the University of Minnesota Twin Cities Golden Gophers. The Gophers had advanced as the three seed defeating Saint Cloud State and Marquette University along the way. The championship game took place on Sunday, April 29 at the Sea Foam Dome at noon.

The Bulldogs really started to click together in the second quarter. Alex McNamara (#10) got the ball rolling as he made his first goal against the Gophers' goalie. Midfielder Justin Vossen (#18, Apple Valley, MN) and Drake Peterson (#15) would soon follow suit with goals of their own. The Gophers started to make their mark with their first goal at the end of the second quarter by their attack man Jack Buckley (#44). The Bulldogs held the lead at the half 4-1.

1 2    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website