Gilroy Leads No. 3 Gators Over No. 1 Wildcats to ALC Title

Florida did not allow an assist to either opponent in the ALC Tournament, and for the second straight time against Northwestern, the Gators gave up just two goals from the field with the remaining five coming on free-position plays.

Junior Amanda Macaluso led the Wildcats with three goals in the game, adding two ground balls and a caused turnover. Midfielder Gabriella Flibotte caused three turnovers and recorded three ground balls, and Taylor Thornton added a pair of goals and two forced TO.

Brianne LoManto, who led the nation in goals-against average entering the week, made six saves and allowed 11 goals in the first 49:23, and Bridget Bianco gave up the final three goals in the last 10:37.

Kayla Stolins won the opening draw, and just 41 seconds into the ALC Championship game, Brittany Dashiell passed up the Caroline Chesterman right in front of the net for the first goal of the game.

Kara Mupo evened score on a free-position goal at 25:08, but back-to-back goals by Shannon Gilroy and a pair of free-position goals by Kitty Cullen gave the Gators a 5-1 lead, which they never relinquished the rest of the game.

Taylor Thornton netted a free-position goal at 5:33, but Cullen set up Gilroy in the arc at 3:03 to regain the four-goal lead. Amanda Macaluso notched her first of three on the afternoon with 21 seconds remaining in the first half, but Shannon Gilroy got the ensuing draw to Nicole Graziano (Mendham, N.J.) who sent it back to Gilroy down inside the fan who netted one more before the horn sounded, heading to the locker room with a comfortable, 7-3, lead.

Macaluso chipped away at the Gators' lead early in the second half with a pair of goals in the first seven minutes, but a 3-0 run featuring goals by Dashiell, Chesterman and Cullen gave UF an 11-5 lead with 12:44 to play, pushing an NU comeback nearly out of reach.

The Wildcats scored two of the next three, but a pair of late goals by Gilroy and ALC Rookie of the Year Nora Barry (Marcellus, N.Y) put it away, as the Gators won their first-ever American Lacrosse Tournament Championship by a final score of 14-7.

Florida goalkeeper Mikey Meagher was named the ALC All-Tournament MVP, after making 14 saves while allowing just 11 goals for a .560 save percentage in the two games. Shannon Gilroy, Jamie Reeg, Sam Farrell and Brittany Dashiell were among the 14 conference players named to the All-Tournament team.

The Gators will find out their NCAA Tournament draw on Sunday night, with the Selection Show airing on at 9:00 p.m. With today's win, Florida claimed one of the eight automatic qualifying bids, joining ACC champion Maryland, Big East champion Loyola, who upset No. 2 Syracuse, 13-7, this afternoon, and America East champion Albany.

Penn will host Dartmouth tomorrow at noon for the Ivy League Championship, while three play-in games will take place this weekend to decide the final automatic qualifiers. Oregon (MPSF) hosts Navy (Patroit) today at 4:00 p.m. followed by Monmouth (NEC) at Towson (CAA) at 7:00 p.m. Massachusetts (A-10) will host Canisius (MAAC) tomorrow at noon for the final AQ. The eight at-large bids along with tournament seeding and game sites will be announced during the Selection Show, as 16 teams will face off beginning Saturday, May 12, on a quest for Stony Brook and a National Championship.

ALC All-Tournament Team
Mikey Meagher (MVP), Florida
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Sam Farrell, Florida
Shannon Gilroy, Florida
Jamie Reeg, Florida
Gabi Flibotte, Northwestern
Alex Frank, Northwestern
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern
Tori DeScenza, Ohio State
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Lizzy Carney, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website