No. 3 Griffins Down Fort Lewis to Repeat as RMLC Champions

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. The third-ranked Westminster College men's lacrosse team won its second consecutive Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference championship with a 17-7 win over Fort Lewis College on Saturday at Walker Field.

With the win, Westminster earns an automatic invitation to the MCLA National Championships that will be held later this month in Greenville, S.C. The Griffins are now 15-3 overall this season and they have won the RMLC title four times in six years. Fort Lewis falls to 13-4 overall.

Jake Arthur scored five goals to lead the Westminster attack. Collin Madsen added three goals and three assists for a team-best six points. Gian Sexsmith finished with two goals and one assist while Dan Spencer contributed two goals.

Marshall Serzen won 15 of 21 faceoffs and collected 10 ground balls. Jeff Peters picked up six ground balls and also scored a goal. Chris Burckle recorded four saves while allowing two goals to get the win. Adam Marfice gave up two goals with three saves and Craig Patrick made one save in allowing three goals.

The 2012 MCLA National Championships will be played from May 14-19 at Sirrine Stadium. The field and match-ups for the tournament should be released early next week.


Create a free lacrosse website