Rookie, Goalie, and Defenseman of the Year Awards

* * * *

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Kyle Rubisch of the Edmonton Rush is the winner of the National Lacrosse League's Defensive Player of the Year for the 2012 season.

Rubisch completed his second season in the league by leading the NLL with 43 forced turnovers. The defenseman played in all 16 regular season games for the Rush, and was named the NLL's Defensive Player of the Week twice. Rubisch was first on the Rush and sixth in the league with 151 loose balls and set career highs with four goals and six assists for 10 points. He was a key part of an Edmonton defense that held opponents to 175 goals during the regular season, the second lowest total in the league.

"Kyle Rubisch had an outstanding year for the Rush and is very deserving of the Defensive Player of the Year Award", said Derek Keenan, Rush General Manager & Head Coach. "Kyle is the ultimate team player and makes the sacrifices necessary to lead a defense. At just 23 years old, it's scary to think how much better he will be as he continues to develop. The sky is the limit". Edmonton faces the Rochester Knighthawks in the NLL Championship Game, presented by Reebok Lacrosse, on Saturday at 7:30 pm ET. The game airs live on CBS Sports Network.

Jeff Gilbert of the Minnesota Swarm and Mike Carnegie of the Calgary Roughnecks finished in a tie for second. Gilbert finished with 26 forced turnovers and Carnegie averaged one forced turnover while each played all 16 games for their respective teams.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website