NLL Transition POY and All-Rookie Team Announced

The National Lacrosse League has announced that Andrew Suitor of the Minnesota Swarm is the winner of the Transition Player of the Year for the 2012 season.

Playing in his second season, the 23-year-old Suitor picked up 120 loose balls, and scored 15 goals with 11 assists in 16 games. He led the NLL with 74 penalty minutes, was third with 25 forced turnovers and won Transition Player of the Week honors twice.

Suitor was captain of a Swarm team that closed the regular season on a four-game winning streak to finish 9-7, and reached the Divisional Finals for the first time in franchise history.

"Andrew's leadership was displayed on the floor throughout the season", said Joe Sullivan, head coach of the Swarm. "While achieving his offensive stats he was also a major contributor defensively picking up 120 loose balls in the 2012 season. Anyone who plays against or with 'Suits' knows what a competitor he is and pushes each player around him to be better."

Brodie Merrill of the Philadelphia Wings finished second and Geoff Snider of the Calgary Roughnecks was third in the voting.

A two-time winner the Transition Player of the Year in 2009 and 2010, Merrill was fourth in the NLL with 157 loose balls and scored 32 points (17 goals, 15 assists) in 16 games with the Wings.

Snider scooped up a league-high 232 loose balls while appearing in just 14 games for the Roughnecks, who finished the regular season with the NLL's best record at 12-4. He was second in the league with 276 face-off wins and was a four-time winner as Transition Player of the Week.

* * * *

The National Lacrosse League has announced the All-Rookie Team for the 2012 season. Rookie of the Year Adam Jones of the Colorado Mammoth is joined by Kevin Crowley of the Philadelphia Wings, Jordan MacIntosh and Evan Kirk of the Minnesota Swarm and Johnny Powless and Stephen Keogh of the East Division Champion Rochester Knighthawks round out the remainder of the squad.

The third overall selection in the 2011 NLL Entry Draft from Canisius, Jones led all rookies with 76 points on 29 goals and 47 assists to win the Rookie of the Year Award. Jones' 29 goals broke the Mammoth franchise's single-season rookie record set by Brian Langtry in 2003.

Crowley, the top overall pick last September from Stony Brook, was the rookie leader with 36 goals and finished second with 71 points. He also collected 81 loose balls and was named Rookie of the Week three times to help the Wings reach the playoffs for the first time since 2008.

MacIntosh, taken fourth overall from RIT, led the Swarm's rookies with 51 points (23 goals, 28 assists) and was fifth in the NLL with 153 loose balls - also a Minnesota team record - and fourth with 151 face-off wins. He was named the league's rookie of the week once and Transition Player of the Week twice. He was also voted as Rookie of the Month for March.

Kirk, selected sixth overall from Hobart, was the only qualifying goaltender to allow fewer than 10 goals per game (9.81). Kirk, who had a 4-4 record with an .807 save percentage, was twice named Rookie of the Week and also took Rookie of the Month honors for February

MacIntosh and Kirk helped Minnesota post a 9-7 record and reach the West Divisional Semifinals.

Powless and Keogh were key to the Knighthawks reaching the Champion's Cup final for the first time since winning it in 2007. The fifth overall pick from Six Nations, Ontario, Powless totaled 50 points (26 goals, 24 assists) in 16 games and had only 10 penalty minutes to win the NLL's Sportsmanship Award.

Powless was a three-time winner of the league's Rookie of the Week award, including back-to-back honors in April.

Keogh, the second overall pick from Syracuse, was third among rookie scorers with 58 points (26 goals, 32 assists). He was named the league's top rookie for Week 17.

Rochester will face Edmonton in the Champion's Cup final at 7:30 p.m. ET Saturday night from the Blue Cross Arena and broadcast on CBS Sports Network.


Create a free lacrosse website