Results from the 40th Vail Lacrosse Shootout: Day 5

Both of last year's championship teams were defeated today in the final day of the Elite division. Cole Roofing took down Gang Green with a one-point difference in the women's division. On the men's side, Maverik Elite ran past Merrill-Lynch by six points after a brief lightning delay.

Results for Tuesday 7/4

Men's Elite

Championship: Maverik Elite 16, Merrill Lynch 10
The 40th Vail Lacrosse Shootout came to a culmination in an even match between Maverik Elite and Merrill Lynch. Both teams went goal for goal for almost the entire first half, including an impressive longpole goal from Merrill Lynch's Goran Murray. Despite lightning and nature conspiring against us, the second half of the game showed Maverik Elite pulling ahead with an impressive shooting display from a deeply talented offensive squad. The all-tournament team was named, as well as the Keeper of Lacrosse award, and the 40th annual Vail Men's Elite came to an impressive close.

3rd Place Game: Rocky Mountain Oysters 14, Brine Elite 13
In what initially seemed to be a Brine-dominated game, the Rocky Mountain Oysters stepped in up in the second half and took the win.

Consolation Championship: Team One's Jammin' Salmon 18, Balance Bar 12
Jammin' Salmon defeated Balance Bar in a relaxed, steady-paced Consolation Championship game.

Remaining Games
Denver City Lax 15, Team Harrow 7
Big Green Herd 8, FCA 4
Team Gutman 9, Prestige 8
Warrior X 10, Tunesquad 9
Southern Combat 7, LOFers 6
Crease Beavers 9, Back Country Brewery 8 (OT)
True Lacrosse 8, Eager Beavers 3

Final Standings
1st - Maverik Elite
2nd - Merrill Lynch
3rd - Rocky Mountain Oysters
4th - Brine Elite
5th - Denver City Lax
6th - Team Harrow
7th - Big Green Herd
8th - FCA
9th - Team One's Jammin' Salmon
10th - Balance Bar
11th - Southern Combat
12th - LOfers
13th - Warrior X
14th - Tunesquad
15th - True Lacrosse
16th - Crease Beavers
17th - True Lacrosse
18th Team Gutman
19th - Prestige Lacrosse
20th - Eager Beavers

Men's Elite All-Tournament Team

Keeper of Lacrosse: Kyle Harrison- Denver City Lax/Encore Johns Hopkins
Offensive MVP: Peter Baum- Maverik Elite Colgate
Defensive MVP: Brian McGill- Maverik Elite Syracuse

Alex Love- Team One's Jammin' Salmon Hobart
Garret Thul- Merrill Lynch/Lacrossewear - Army
Eric Law- Rocky Mountain Oysters/ - Denver

Kyle Harrison- Denver City Lax/Encore Johns Hopkins
JoJo Marasco- Maverik Elite Syracuse
Pete Schwartz- Merrill Lynch - Harvard

Nick Maggio- Brine Elite Merrimack

Short-Stick Defense
Josh Hawkins- Merrill Lynch Loyola

Ryan Kilpatrick- Maverik Elite North Carolina
Sam Mayes- Brine Elite - Pfeiffer
Scott Ratliff- Merrill Lynch Loyola

Niko Amato - Maverik Elite - Maryland

* * * *

Women's Elite

Championship: Cole Roofing 13, Gang Green 12
The Championship game between Gang Green and Cole Roofing ended in dramatic fashion for the Women's Elite Division. It was a competitive game with both teams proving why they were the best in the field of 15 teams.

Gang Green, the reigning champion, went into the Championship Game under the leadership of Aly Josephs, and Ashley Heist. Cole Roofing, also coming in undefeated, were led by Morgan Kelly and Sally Roberts. Both teams have the ability to score, relentless defense, and top goalies that have the ability to make clutch saves.

1 2 3    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website