Six Finalists Announced for NLL Hall of Fame Ballot

The 1993 Buffalo Bandits
The 1993 Buffalo Bandits are the first team to be nominated for the NLL Hall of Fame. The '93 Bandits are the first and only team in league history to go through the regular season and playoffs undefeated. The Bandits went 8-0 in the regular season, outscoring its opponents 143-108. The team went 2-0 in the playoffs, including a Championship Game 13-12 win over a Philadelphia Wings team that came into the Championship with a season record of 8-1.

The 1993 team's roster & staff included five future NLL Hall of Famers and individuals who continue to have an impact on the NLL to this day. The team was coached by the late Les Bartley, who won his second of seven championships as a head coach that season. Bartley was inducted posthumously into the NLL Hall of Fame as part of the Hall's Inaugural Class in 2006.

Three of the team's players are now in the Hall of Fame: Darris Kilgour, Rich Kilgour & Jim Veltman. John Tavares, the league's all-time leading scorer, was on the '93 Bandits team and was MVP of the Championship Game. More than half (5 out of 9) of the league's current head coaches were part of the '93 Bandits team: Troy Cordingley, Bob Hamley, Derek Keenan & Darris Kilgour played on the team. Johnny Mouradian was the team's General Manager, and is now a member of the NLL Hall of Fame.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website