Dickson Leads Canada Over USA in Lacrosse Duel in Denver

The event featured many of the top American and Canadian players from the 2010 FIL World Championship and also served as a launch point for the selection of the training team that will comprise the 2014 U.S. men's national team. Ten players return from the 2010 U.S. men's national team, including Ryan Boyle, Joe Cinosky, Ned Crotty, Kyle Dixon, Stephen Peyser, Paul Rabil, Max Seibald, Matt Striebel, Kyle Sweeney and Drew Westervelt.

Several Team USA members brought Colorado ties to the exhibition event. Goalie Jesse Schwartzman and defensemen Matt Bocklet and Lee Zink currently play for the MLL's Denver Outlaws, while Seibald and Westervelt are former Outlaws.

For Team Canada, Matthews and Jordan McBride are both members of the Outlaws, while John Grant Jr., Adam Jones, McBride all play for the Colorado Mammoth.

In 2010, the FIL named the United States as the host country of the 2014 FIL Men's World Championship in Denver. US Lacrosse will host the quadrennial event with local support from Visit Denver, the Denver Sports Commission and the Denver lacrosse community. More than 40 countries and nearly 1,000 athletes are expected to compete in the 2014 championship at Dick's Sporting Goods Park, and more than 100,000 spectators are expected to attend.

«  Previous    1 2


Create a free lacrosse website