IWLCA National and Regional Lacrosse Coaches of the Year

The IWLCA has recognized 13 collegiate mentors as 2012 Coaches of the Year in their respective regions, with three being honored as National Coach of the Year. Divisional champions Kate Livesay from Trinity, Meghan McNamara from C.W. Post, and Kelly Amonte Hiller from Northwestern each led their teams to the NCAA title and were selected by their peers to receive the national recognition.

In Division III, Livesay led the Bantams to their first NCAA title in program history. She has led the program to an 87-22 record over the last 6 seasons, giving her the highest winning percentage (.870) of any women's lacrosse coach in Trinity history. In the 2011-2012 campaign, Livesay led the Bantams to a program-best record of 21-1, topping the previous record her squad set in 2010-2011 (18-1). In her 6 years at the helm, Livesay has been named NESCAC Coach of the Year three times (2007, 2011 & 2012). Livesay has guided the Bantams to the NESCAC Championships all six years of her tenure as head coach and added an impressive five visits to the NCAA Tournament. In the last two seasons alone, Livesay has coached seven All Americans. Three of Livesay's players were named All-Americans this season, five were named to the NESCAC All-Conference Team, and senior midfielder, Liz Bruno, was named the National Women's Lacrosse Midfielder of the Year. This season, Livesay's squad set new Trinity records for goals scored in a season (264), points in a season (355), shots in a season (571), and draw controls in a season (265). Livesay also achieved both a second consecutive NESCAC Championship and the first NCAA Tournament Championship in Trinity College Women's Lacrosse history this season. Livesay was also named the Berkshires Coach of the Year.

Six of Livesay's colleagues were honored as Regional Coaches of the Year. Missy Foote (Middlebury), Jen Dragoni Muston (York), Jim Nestor (Salisbury), Sharon Pfluger (TCNJ), Kathy Taylor (Cortland), and Michele Uhlfelder (Occidental) each earned a nod by the IWLCA. Foote, representing the Pilgrim region, led her team back to the final four for the first time since '07. Middlebury finished the season with a 15-5 record overall, winning the NCAA Regional at Gettysburg before advancing to the final four. The team also advanced to the NESCAC title game, falling to eventual national champion Trinity. Foote was recently named to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, finishing up her 32nd season with a career mark of 376-101-1.

Muston led the 2012 York College squad to a record-setting campaign. In just the seventh season of varsity competition, the Green and White went 14-5 and earned the school's first ever women's lacrosse NCAA Tournament berth. The 14 wins, coupled with a Capital Athletic Conference championship game appearance, were notable accomplishments as Muston earned her second straight CAC Coach of the-Year award. In 2011, York went 13-4 and earned a first-ever berth in the CAC semifinals. Since Muston's arrival prior to the 2008 season, York has posted a 55-31 mark including ten-plus wins in four of her five seasons. For her career, Muston has coached 15 of York's 18 All-Capital Athletic Conference honorees, including a program-best seven selections this spring.

Pfluger had another successful year at TCNJ leading the Lions to the NJAC Championships and then directed the team to the NCAA quarterfinals. TCNJ finished the year with 16 victories and on a personal note, Pfluger garnered her 400th career win on April 24 against Stevens Institute of Technology. The Lions (16-4) boasted the second best defense in Division III allowing 6.35 goals a game and ranked fourth in scoring margin with a difference of plus-8.85 goals a contest. This season also saw TCNJ's all-time scoring record fall as senior Leigh Mitchell finished her career with 398 points and became the only play in program history to record three 100-point seasons. She also set school records for assists in a career, season, and game as well as points in a game.

1 2 3 4    Next  »


Create a free lacrosse website