Denver Announces Lacrosse Schedule for the 2013 Season

DENVER - University of Denver will play eight games at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium as part of DU's 2012 schedule, head coach Liza Kelly announced today.

"The 2013 season is an exciting year for women's lacrosse," Kelly said. "The NCAA Tournament bracket has been expanded to 24 teams, eliminating the play-in games and adding more at-large spots. I feel strongly that our schedule puts Denver is position to contend for both an at-large spot and for the MPSF Championship automatic qualifier."

Denver opens the season with road trips to Vanderbilt (Feb. 16), George Washington (Feb. 22) and Delaware (Feb. 24), before returning home for its March 2 home opener against Louisville, the first of five-straight home games.

The Pioneers will face High Point (March 4) and Winthrop (March 8) before opening their Mountain Pacific Sports Federation slate against Fresno State (March 9). Denver then wraps up its homestand March 13 versus Boston University.

From there the Pioneers will play four-straight on the road, beginning with games against Vermont (March 20) and Holy Cross (March 23). The Crimson and Gold will then return to conference action for match-ups with San Diego (March 29) and USC (March 31).

Denver is slated to host UC Davis (April 6) and defending MPSF champion Stanford (April 13) before heading back on the road to take on California (April 19) and Saint Mary's (April 21).

The Pioneers will conclude their regular season by hosting Oregon on April 26 for Senior Day.

The Ducks will host the MPSF Tournament in Eugene, Ore., on March 2-4.

The Pioneers return 19 players, including 10 starters, from the 2012 squad that finished second in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation regular season. All-MPSF selections Kara Secora (Denver, Colo.), Kate Henrich (Lansdale, Pa.), Cailie Murphy (Towson, Md.), and Jenn Etzel (Bel Air, Md.), as well as MPSF Co-Newcomer of the Year Jill Remenapp (Woodbine, Md.) return to this year's lineup.

Date          Opponent                        Location                 Time (MT)
Sat, Feb 16 Vanderbilt at Nashville, Tenn. 12:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 22 George Washington at Washington, D.C. 1:30 p.m.
Sun, Feb 24 Delaware at Newark, Del. 10:00 a.m.

Sat, Mar 02 Louisville Peter Barton Stadium 11:00 a.m.
Mon, Mar 04 High Point Peter Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Mar 08 Winthrop Peter Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 09 Fresno State * Peter Barton Stadium 11:00 a.m.
Wed, Mar 13 Boston University Peter Barton Stadium 7:00 p.m.
Wed, Mar 20 Vermont at Burlington, Vt. 1:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 23 Holy Cross at Worcester, Mass. 10:00 a.m.
Fri, Mar 29 San Diego * at San Diego, Calif. 1:00 p.m.
Sun, Mar 31 Southern Cal * at Los Angeles, Calif. 2:00 p.m.

Sat, Apr 06 UC Davis * Peter Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
Sat, Apr 13 Stanford * Peter Barton Stadium 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 19 California * at Berkeley, Calif. 6:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 21 St. Mary's * at Moraga, Calif. 1:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 26 Oregon * Peter Barton Stadium 5:00 p.m.

Thu, May 02 MPSF Tournament Semifinals at Eugene, Ore. TBA
Sat, May 04 MPSF Tournament Championship at Eugene, Ore. 2:00 p.m.


Create a free lacrosse website